Landslide victory of PTI in Punjab, PML-N admits defeat

PM Shehbaz calls PML-N meeting tomorrow to review the situation on direction of Nawaz Sharif; Bilawal Bhutto also summons CEC hybrid meeting in Karachi

By: News Desk
Published: 06:12 PM, 17 Jul, 2022
Landslide victory of PTI in Punjab, PML-N admits defeat
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) won Punjab by-elections with a great margin over the ruling Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N). Out of 20, the PTI won 15 seats, the PML-N 4 seats and an independent candidate succeeded to come on the victory stand. 

The ruling PML-N leader Malik Ahmad Khan has said that they accept the defeat in the Punjab by-elections while Maryam Nawaz Sharif has said in a tweet that the defeat should be admitted with an open heart.

Soon after getting the results, PML-N supremo Mian Nawaz Sharif also made telephonic contact with Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif from London and advised him to call the party meeting tomorrow (Monday) to make future strategies. PM Shehbaz has summoned the party session on Monday.

Coalition partner of the PML-N government, the Pakistan People's Party Chairman Bilawal Bhutto has also summoned a hybrid meeting of the Central Executive Council at Bilawal House Karachi tomorrow (Monday) at 4 pm to discuss the political scenario created after the Punjab by-election results.

According to the results, PTI candidates Sardar Saifuddin Khosa, Zain Qureshi, Mian Akram Usman, Khurram Shehzad Virk, Pir Amir Iqbal Shah, Irfan Ullah Niazi, Qaiser Abbas Magsi, Azam Cheela, Hassan Aslam Awan, Ali Afzal Sahi, Shabbir Gujar, and Maj (R) Ghulam Sarwar have won elections while Zaheer Abbas Khokhar, Mian Azam Cheela from Jhang, Khurram Shehzad from Sheikhupura are also in a clear position to win.

While the ruling Nawaz League's three candidates Asad Khokhar from Lahore, Sabtain Raza from Muzaffargarh and Fida Hussain from Bahawalnagar won the election after a tough contest with PTI.

Interestingly, an independent candidate Pir Rafiuddin Bukhari has also succeeded to snatch a seat of PP-228 Lodhran from the PTI and the PML-N. He belongs to the Shaheed Kanju group.

Soon after winning the seats, the PTI distributed sweets among the people and celebrate their victory with dances and fireworks at their offices across the province.

The ECP said in RMS that the turnout in the by-polls in Punjab by-elections was 42 per cent.

The unofficial and unverified initial results from all 20 constituencies received by the 24News HD TV channel are as under: 

Result of Constituencies:

PP-7 Rawalpindi

PML-N-----Raja Sagheer Ahmed------------68,906

PTI----------Col ® Shabbir Awan------------ 68,857

PP-83 Khushab

PTI----------Hassan Aslam Awan----------48475

Ind. --------Malik Asif-------------------------41752

PML-N-----Ameer Haider ------------------ 10029

PP-90 Bhakkar

PTI----------Irfan Ullah Niazi----------------77865

PML-N-----Saeed Akhbar Nawani---------66513

TLP--------Mufti Amjad------------------------568

PP-97 Faisalabad, Chak Jhumra

PTI---------- Ali Afzal Sahi--------------67022

PML-N-----Ajmal Cheema-------------54266

TLP --------Naveed Shafi--------------7521

PP-125 Jhang

PTI---------- Mian Azam Cheela ---------82297

PML-N-----Faisal Jabwana---------------52277

PP-127 Jhang

PTI----------Nawaz Bharwana---------71648

PML-N-----Aslam Bharwana----------47413

PP-140 Sheikhupura

PTI---------- Khurram Shahzad---------49734

PML-N-----Khalid Arain-------------------32812

PP-158 Lahore

PTI--------- Mian Akram Usman----------37463

PML-N-----Rana Ahsan Sharafat---------31906

PP-167 Lahore

PTI---------- Ch Shabbir Gujar---------40511

PML-N-----Nazir Chohan-------------- 26473

TLP---------Hasnain Ahmad-----------1091

PP-168 Lahore

PML-N-----Malik Asad Khokhar-------26169

PTI----------Malik Nawaz Awan--------15767

PP-170 Lahore

PTI----------Zaheer Abbas Khokhar-----24688

PML-N-----Ch Amin Gujjar ---------------17519

PP-202 Sahiwal

PTI--------Major (R) Ghulam Sarwar------61989

PML-N---------- Noman Langrial-----------59167

TLP--------- Umair Saleem------------------5102 

PP-217 Multan

PTI---------- Zai Qureshi-----------------47252

PML-N-----Salman Naeem-------------40203

TLP---------Zahid Gujar------------------127

PP-224 Lodhran

PTI----------Amir Iqbal Shah-----------------69881

PML-N-----Zawar Hussain Waraich-------56214

PP-228 Lodhran

Ind. ------Rafia ud Din Bukhari-----------45020

PTI----------Izzat Javed Khan--------------38338

PML-N-----Nazar Ahmed Khan------------10030

PP-237 Bahawalnagar

PML-N----- Mian Fida Hussain------------61248

PTI---------- Syed Aftab Raza--------------43014

TLP --------Rashid Mehmood----------------18910

PP-272 Muzaffargarh

PTI---------- Sardar Moazam Jatoi---------46069

PML-N-----Zehra Basit Bukhari------------36401

PP-273 Muzaffargarh

PML-N-----Sibtain Raza----------------59679

PTI---------- Yasir Arafat Jatoi----------51232

PP-282 Layyah

PTI---------- Qaiser Abbas Magsi------43922

PML-N-----Tahir Randhawa-------------29715

PP-288 Dera Ghazi Khan

PTI---------- Sardar Saifuddin Khosa-----59760

PML-N-----Abdul Qadir Khosa-------------34701