Raja Farooq, three ex-PMs win their seats in AJK polls

By: 24 News
Published: 11:37 AM, 26 Jul, 2021
Raja Farooq, three ex-PMs win their seats in AJK polls
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Three former and the outgoing prime minister of the Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) succeeded in winning their seats in elections to the (AJK) assembly held yesterday (Sunday, July 25), reported 24NewsHD TV channel on Monday.

Barrister Sultan Mehmood and Sardar Atiq Ahmed Khan and outgoing Prime Minister Raja Farooq Haider managed to win their respective seats.

Similarly, Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Chaudhry Muhammad Yasin, who was the opposition leader in the last state assembly, once again became member of the AJK legislative assembly while Sardar Tanveer Ilyas won his seat from Bagh.

However, AJK ministers Chaudhry Saeed, Mushtaq Minhas, Rukhsar Ahmed, Chaudhry Tariq Farooq, Raja Naseer Ahmed Khan, Chaudhry Aziz and Iftikhar Gilani failed to save their seats.

Ghulam Shah Qadir, AJK Assembly speaker, and ministers Waqar Noon, Amir Altaf won their respective seats.

PPP’s Sardar Yaqub Khan, former AJK president and former prime minister, was ahead of his opponent as per the results received till the filing of this report.

The outgoing Prime Minister of AJK Raja Farooq Haider managed to save his seat LA-32, Hatyan Bala following a tough contest against his opponent PPP’s Ashfaque Zafar by securing 15,598 votes.

Zafar, who was the runner-up, got 15,204 votes, while Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) Zeeshan Haider stood third after bagging 9,0016 votes. However, PTI’s Diwan Ali Chugtai won the LA 33 seat. 

According to the unofficial results of LA 21, Pooch 4, PPP AJK candidate Hassan Ibrahim remained successful after securing 8,205 votes.