NA speaker forms parliamentary panel on Finance Ordinance

By: News Desk
Published: 02:32 PM, 1 Apr, 2021
Finance ordinance
Caption: File photo of Asad Qaiser.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

In a major breakthrough, National Assembly Speaker Asad Qaiser has formed an eight-member committee consisting of government and opposition members after objections raised to the Finance Ordinance, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

The government and the opposition have jointly trying to find a common ground for the approval of the Finance Ordinance.

Having four members each from the government as well as the Opposition side, the committee consists of Advisor to Prime minister on Parliamentary Affairs Babar Awan, Finance Minister Hammad Azhar, Ahsan Iqbal, Ayaz Sadiq, Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, Syed Naveed Qamar, Shahida Akhtar Ali and Attorney General of Pakistan Khalid Javed Khan.

A notification issued in this regard states “As discussed in National Assembly in its sitting held on March 29, 2021 with regard to the promulgation of Ordinances regarding money matters as enshrined in Article 73 read with Article 89 of the constitution, it was decided that a meeting of representatives of government and opposition side may be convened to further discuss the matter in light of the constitutional provisions and Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in National Assembly, 2007.”

The first meeting of the committee will be held on Friday (tomorrow) at 2 pm at the Parliament House. 

Sources said the decision to table Finance Ordinance in the House will be made after hearing the stance of the committee.

Dr Babar Awan termed the constitution of the committee a major breakthrough. “The committee will lay focus on law-making by ignoring the ‘fireworks’ in the House,” he added.

SBP governor

Governor State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) Dr Reza Baqir while talking to a private TV channel said that the SBP Autonomy Bill will be presented for debate in the parliament. “Had it not been for the current account deficit of $19 billion, we would not have gone to the International Monetary Fund (IMF),” he added.

NA panel boycott

Separately, Members of the National Assembly Standing Committee on Parliamentary Affairs boycotted the meeting over non-participation of the Law Minister for the consecutive third time.

The Minister for Parliamentary Affairs also expressed regret over the absence of the Law Minister.

Reporter Usman Khan