Zimbabwe win toss and choose to bat first in third ODI

By: News Desk
Published: 11:45 AM, 3 Nov, 2020
Zimbabwe win toss and choose to bat first in third ODI
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Zimbabwe won the toss and chose to bat first in the third and final one-day international match against Pakistan being played at Rawalpindi Stadium on Tuesday.

With the series already in the bag, the hosts are hoping to make it three in three against Zimbabwe in the final ODI. A win would also see Pakistan go top of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Super League points table.

After winning the toss, Zimbabwe captain Chamu Chibhabha said they will try to win today’s match and if the openers gave them a good start they can build a big score.

Pakistan have made four changes in their line-up for the final one-dayer. Wahan Riaz will replace Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman to open the innings in place of Abid Ali, Harif Rauf will clear the way for Muhammad Hasnanin and Khushdil Khan will make his debute in place of Immad Wasim.

Zimbabwe have had some promising performances in the first two matches, but have failed to string together a perfect team effort. Pakistan, on the other hand, have had contributions coming in from all quarters.

The area the visitors would most like to fix would be the top order, which hasn't fired in either of the two matches. The onus will be on captain and opener Chamu Chibhabha to help deliver Zimbabwe with a strong start in the final match.

That, however, will be no easy task against Pakistan's formidable attack. Where fast bowlers Shaheen Shah Afridi and Wahab Riaz did most of the damage in the first ODI, spinner Iftikhar Ahmed led the charge in the second match.


With the series won, Pakistan could ring the changes.

   Pakistan (possible): 1 Fakhar Zaman/Abid Ali, 2 Imam-ul-Haq, 3 Babar Azam (capt), 4 Haider Ali, 5 Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 6 Iftikhar Ahmed, 7 Khushdil Shah, 8 Imad Wasim/Faheem Ashraf, 9 Haris Rauf, 10 Mohammad Musa, 11 Shaheen Afridi/Wahab Riaz

Zimbabwe were unchanged for the second game, but it continues to appear as if they're a batsman light. Ryan Burl could be brought in to shore things up, while Kamunhukamwe must surely be running Chari close.

Zimbabwe (possible): 1 Brian Chari/Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, 2 Chamu Chibhabha, 3 Craig Ervine, 4 Brendan Taylor (wk), 5 Sean Williams, 6 Wesley Madhevere, 7 Sikandar Raza, 8 Elton Chigumbura/Ryan Burl, 9 Carl Mumba, 10 Richard Ngarava, 11 Blessing Muzarabani