Azam Nazeer Tarar to be made ECL committee convener 

By: News Desk
Published: 07:49 PM, 5 Dec, 2022
 Azam Nazeer Tarar to be made ECL committee convener 
Caption: File photo
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Federal Minister Ayaz Sadiq will be removed from the post of ECL committee convener, 24NewsHD TV channel reported on Monday.

Nazir Tarar will replace Ayaz Sadiq who will be made a committee member, the sources said adding that Naveed Qamar, Asad Mehmood and Maryium Aurangzeb are among the members of the body.

Law Minister Azam Nazeer Tarar tendered his resignation on October 23 and Economic Affairs Minister Ayaz Sadiq was given the portfolio. However, Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif rejected the resignation of Azam Nazeer Tarar. A delegation of ministers met Azam last week and conveyed the premier decision to him.

He was reappointed as the federal minister for law and justice and a notification was issued by the cabinet division for handing over the ministry to Azam. Earlier, the premier reconstituted the Cabinet Committee for Disposal of Legislative Cases (CCLC) and Azam became its chief.

Other CCLC members include Finance Minister Ishaq Dar,  Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah, Commerce Minister Naveed Qamar, Communications Minister Asad Mehmood, Investment Minister Chaudhry Salik Hussain and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Javed Abbasi.

Citing a cabinet division notification, a report states: “In terms of rule 3(4) of the Rules of Business, 1973, the prime minister has been pleased to allocate the portfolio of law and Justice to Senator Azam Nazeer Tarar, Federal Minister, with immediate effect. Consequently, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, the Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Political Affairs shall cease to hold the portfolio of law and Justice.”

Categories : Latest, Pakistan