NA-249 vote recount continues

By: News Desk      Published: 12:38 PM, 8 May, 2021
Vote recount.
File photo.

The vote recount of Karachi constituency NA-249 by-elected continued for the third consecutive day on Saturday, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

The RO office had completed the counting of ballots of 141 out of 276 polling stations on Friday. According to which, 346 votes of PPP candidate Qadir Khan Mandokhel were rejected and 536 ballots of PML-N’s Miftah Ismail were rejected. 

All political parties except the PPP have boycotted the NA-249 by-election recount ordered by the Election Commission of Pakistan on the request of runner-up PML-N. 

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Mutahidda Qaumi Movement and Pakistan Serzameen Party have boycotted the recount process with the PTI clamoring for holding fresh by-election in the constituency.

See Also: Shahzad Akbar succeeds in his stop-Shehbaz mission

However, the election officials went ahead with the recounting of votes despite the boycott announcement by major political parties including runner-up PML-N, PTI, MQM and PSP.

The by-polls in NA 249 were held on April 29. All the parties except the winner PPP cried foul when the results were stopped pouring in for quite a while raising fear among political parties of possible rigging.

Reacting to the recounting process on May 6, Miftah told media persons that election staff did not put their signatures on the form. The sacks which were holding ballots were not sealed. He said they still had not been provided with Form 46. He said the returning officer refused to give them Form 46 saying it was illegal if he did so.

PTI’s candidate Amjad Afridi said that PTI was joining the boycott because the electoral staff had made the process contentious.

Reporter Azad Nehrio