Bangladesh beat New Zealand to seal T20 series win

By: AFP      Published: 05:32 PM, 8 Sep, 2021
Bangladesh beat New Zealand to seal T20 series win
Bangladesh's Shakib Al Hasan reacts after his dismissal during the fourth Twenty20 international cricket match between Bangladesh and New Zealand.

Bangladesh won the fourth Twenty20 international against New Zealand by six wickets in Dhaka on Wednesday to secure victory in their five-match series.

New Zealand were bowled out for 93 and Bangladesh captain Mahmudullah Riyad hit an unbeaten 43 as his side reached 96 for four with five balls to spare. Victory gave Bangladesh an unbeatable 3-1 series lead.

Spinner Nasum Ahmed and fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman each took four wickets as Bangladesh skittled out New Zealand in 19.3 overs.

Mahmudullah hit two sixes in his 48 ball innings after opener Mohammad Naim hit 29 off 35 balls to maintain the early run chase.

Bangladesh v New Zealand T20 scoreboard

Scorecard of the fourth Twenty20 international between Bangladesh and New Zealand at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Wednesday.

New Zealand

Rachin Ravindra c Saifuddin b Nasum     0

Finn Allen c Saifuddin b Nasum         12

Tom Latham st Nurul b Mahedi           21

Will Young c Mahmudullah b Mustafizur  46

Henry Nicholls b Nasum                  1

Colin de Grandhomme c Nurul b Nasum     0

Tom Blundell c Naim b Mustafizur        4

Cole McConchie c & b Mustafizur         0

Ajaz Patel b Saifuddin                  4

Blair Tickner c Mahedi b Mustafizur     2

Hamish Bennett not out                  0

Extras (lb 2, w1)                       3

Total (19.3 overs)                     93

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Ravindra), 2-16 (Allen), 3-51 (Latham), 4-52 (Nicholls), 5-52 (de Grandhomme), 6-72 (Blundell), 7-74 (McConchie), 8-91 (Patel), 9-93 (Young), 10-93 (Tickner)

Bowling: Nasum 4-0-10-4, Shakib 4-0-25-0, Mahedi 4-0-21-1, Mustafizur 3.3-0-12-4, Saifuddin 3-0-16-1, Mahmudullah 1-0-7-0


Mohammad Naim run out                 29

Liton Das c Allen b McConchie          6

Shakib Al Hasan st Latham b Patel      8

Mushfiqur Rahim b Patel                0

Mahmudullah Riyad not out             43

Afif Hossain not out                   6

Extras (lb 2, w2)                      4

Total (four wickets, 19.1 overs)      96

Did Not Bat: Mahedi Hasan, Nurul Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman  

Fall of wickets: 1-8 (Liton), 2-32 (Shakib), 3-32 (Mushfiqur), 4-67 (Naim)

Bowling: Bennett 3-0-17-0, Patel 4-0-9-2, McConchie 3.1-0-34-1, Ravindra 4-0-8-0, De Grandhomme 3-0-13-0, Tickner 2-0-13-0  

Result: Bangladesh win by six wickets

The fifth and final game is on Friday.

Categories : Sports