South Africa win toss, elect to bat first in first T20

By: News Desk
Published: 05:21 PM, 10 Apr, 2021
South Africa win toss, elect to bat first in first T20
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Newly-appointed South African captain Heinrich Klaasen Saturday won the toss and elected to bat first in the first T20 International of the four-T20Is series against Pakistan in Johannesburg.

South Africa, depleted by injuries and losing players to the Indian Premier League has given debut to three players Sisanda Magala, Lizaad Williams and Wihan Lubbe.

It is a special occasion for Pakistan’s M Hafeez who has become the second Pakistani after Shoaib Malik to play the 100 T20 Internationals. Currently in sublime batting form, Hafeez is also the leading run-scorer for Pakistan in the T20s in South Africa.

Newly inducted in Pakistan's T20 squad and rich in form left-handed opener Fakhar Zaman also made the cut for the playing XI that also delayed Sharjeel Ahmad’s international comeback after a fixing ban as well.


South Africa: Aiden Markram, Janneman Malan, Heinrich Klaasen (capt), Pite van Biljon, Wihan Lubbe, George Linde, Andile Phehlukwayo, Sisanda Magala, Beuran Hendricks, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Pakistan: M Rizwan, Babar Azam (capt), Fakhar Zaman, M Hafeez, Haider Ali, M Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf.