PSL 7: Quetta Gladiators win toss, elected to bowl first

By: News Desk
Published: 07:10 PM, 12 Feb, 2022
PSL 7: Quetta Gladiators win toss, elected to bowl first
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

2019-champions Quetta Gladiators won the toss and put two-time champions Islamabad United into the bat in the 18th match of the seventh edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

Islamabad have won three of their last five games and are placed at the third spot on the points table. They got the better of Quetta Gladiators in their last meeting this season.

Both United and Gladiators are playing their sixth fixture this season with the former being currently placed at the third spot at the points table with six points. Meanwhile, Quetta with four points are placed in the fifth spot.

Both Islamabad and Quetta are coming off comprehensive victories in their previous outings. The United rolled over the mediocre-looking Karachi Kings whereas the Gladiators overpowered Lahore Qalandars courtesy a belligerent assault from their opening batsman, Jason Roy.

It rained runs when these two sides came to grips with each other in Karachi. Shadab Khan's men notched up a gargantuan 229 runs batting first which is still the highest team score in this year's edition.

The Gladiators will be hoping that Roy can emulate his ball-striking antics from the other night as they look to clamber into the top half of the points table.

However, Quetta Gladiators have been dealt a major blow as their spin-bowling all-rounder, Mohammad Nawaz, has been ruled out of the rest of PSL 2022 due to a foot injury. He has been replaced by Hassan Khan.

Umar Akmal is making a comeback to the PSL for Quetta Galdiators. Noor Ahmad has also received his Quetta debut cap.

Islamabad United have made four changes in their line up from the last match.

Islamabad Playing XI: Muhammad Akhlaq, Alex Hales, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shadab Khan (c), Azam Khan (wk), Asif Ali, Liam Dawson, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Hasan Ali, Zeeshan Zameer

Quetta Gladiators Playing XI: Ahsan Ali, Jason Roy, James Vince, Sarfraz Ahmed (c) (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Umar Akmal, James Faulkner, Shahid Afridi, Noor Ahmad, Naseem Shah, Ghulam Mudassar.

Categories : PSL, PSL 7, Sports