Multan Sultan crush Lahore Qalandars

By: News Desk
Published: 06:36 PM, 15 Mar, 2023
Multan Sultan crush Lahore Qalandars
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Multan Sultan crushed the defending champion Lahore Qalandar by 84 runs in the Qualifier of Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8 at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Wednesday. Multan Sultan's bowler Cottrell and batsman Pollard sent their team through to the third straight PSL final.

Lahore Qalandars couldn’t fight properly against Multan Sultan and the team was out at 76 runs in 14.3  overs. Sam billings was highest scorer from Lahore Qalandars who made 19 runs on 27 balls while Haris Rauf made 15 runs on 13 balls.

Multan Sultan’s Sheldon Cottrell got three wickets for 20 runs while Usama Mir succeeded to get two wickets for 12 runs.

Playing first after winning the toss, Multan Sultan set a target of 161 runs for defending champion Lahore Qalandars in the Qualifier of Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8 at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Wednesday.

Multan Sultan succeeded to make 160-5 in 20 overs and its five batsmen were backed to the pavilion.

Multan Sultan’s skipper Mohammad Rizwan set another record as he completed his 500 runs in PSL-8 this year. He made 33 runs on 29 balls with three boundaries.

Kieron Pollard was the only batsman who made a half-century. His total score was 57 runs while Lahore Qalandars’ bowler Haris Rauf took three wickets for 34 runs.

Earlier today, Multan Sultan won the toss against defending champions Lahore Qalandars and decided to bat first in the Qualifier.

The winner of the Qualifier will directly qualify for the final. Lahore Qalandars have won seven out of the 10 matches in PSL season 8 while Multan Sultans have won six out of the 10 matches.

Belligerent Lahore Qalandars rank first on the points table with 14 points, whereas, Multan Sultans rank second on the points table with 12 points.

A tough competition is expected between the two teams as both are known for their power hitting skills and intimidating bowling attack.

Lahore Qalandars squad

Fakhar Zaman, Tahir Baig, Abdullah Shafique, Sam Billings (wk), Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi (c), Haris Rauf and Zaman Khan

Multan Sultans squad

Mohammad Rizwan (c/wk), Usman Khan, Rilee Rossouw, Kieron Pollard, Tim David, Khushdil Shah, Anwar Ali, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Sheldon Cottrell and Ihsanullah

Categories : Latest, PSL, PSL 8