Fawad decries ban on Gandapur’s entry into Punjab

By: News Desk
Published: 12:21 PM, 16 Jul, 2022
Fawad decries ban on Gandapur’s entry into Punjab
Caption: Ali Amin Gandapur.
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Former federal minister and PTI leader Chaudhry Fawad Hussain has decried the ban imposed by the Punjab government on Ali Amin Gandapur’s entry into the province on the eve of by-elections on Sunday, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

In a couple of tweets, Fawad said “The ban on Ali Amin Gandapur's entry into Punjab is not only a serious violation of basic human rights, but it will harm the unity and integrity of the Federation. But entry ban is an attempt to spoil the environment.”

The PTI leader in another tweet said “The real threat to law and order in Punjab is people like Rana Sanaullah and Atta Tarar who are spoiling the election environment by administrative interference.”

On Friday, the Punjab government had slapped a ban on Ali Amin Gandapur’s entry into the province ahead of Punjab by-elections. In a statement, Punjab Home Minister Ata Tarar alleged that Gandapur and Maqbool Gujjar want to carry out violent activities in Punjab. “In a bid to maintain law and order situation, the provincial government has decided to clamp ban on Ali Amin Gandapur and Maqbool Gujjar’s entry in Punjab,” he added.

Tarar further said that the government would ensure peaceful and transparent elections in Punjab and miscreants who will be involved in violent activities will be dealt with iron hands. The provincial Home Minister added that PTI was inciting people after forecasting its defeat in the Punjab by-polls.

In his reaction, Gandapur had told newsmen that he would approach judiciary against the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) and the Punjab government. He further said that the ‘imported’ government first registered fake FIRs and arrested the PTI workers without any grounds.

The by-elections on 20 Punjab Assembly seats, vacated after the PTI MPAs voted for Hamza Shehbaz in the CM elections, will be conducted on July 17, Sunday (tomorrow).