By-elections: PTI takes lead with 8 seats

PPP regains Multan seat, beats PTI chief in Karachi; Imran Khan wins 6 out of 7 NA seats

By: News Desk
Published: 07:48 PM, 16 Oct, 2022
By-elections: PTI takes lead with 8 seats
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Unofficial results have shown former prime minister Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-Insaf (PTI) has led the by-elections, 24NewsHDTV channel reported Sunday.

However, the Pakistan People's Party beat the former prime minister's party in Multan and Karachi. PPP candidate Ali Musa Gilani, the son of former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gilani, beat Mehr Bano Qureshi, the daughter of former foreign minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, and secured the NA 157 seat. Imran Khan lost the NA-237 Karachi seat to Abdul Hakeem Baloch of the PPP.

See also: By-election: PPP defeats PTI in Multan

Imran Khan contested seven NA seats that fell vacant after the acceptance of the resignations of PTI members by the National Assembly speaker. Tehreek-e-Insaf chairman Imran Khan took lead with 82,457 in the constituency of Peshawar, followed by Awami National Party candidate Ghulam Ahmad Bilour with 32,253. however 

See also: By-election: PTI loses NA seat to PPP in Karachi

The polling started at 8:00am and concluded at 5:00 pm without any break. The Army and Rangers have been called in to maintain law and order. A few cases of clashes and mismanagement were reported.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf won 6 National Assembly and 2 Provincial Assembly seats in the by-election and the party chief won 6 out of 7 National Assembly seats. PML-N secured one provincial assembly seat.

Imran Khan won the Charsadda NA-24 seat with 78,589 votes, followed by Amil Wali Khan of ANP stood second with 68,356 votes.

See also: By-election: ANP leader Bilour cries foul 

In Mardan constituency NA 22, Imran Khan got 76,451 votes while PDM Maulana Qasim got 68,042 votes.

PTI once again secured the NA-108 seat of Faisalabad. Imran Khan won with 99,841 votes, his opponent Abid Sher Ali of PML-N stood second with 75,266 votes.

Imran Khan remained successful in Nankana Sahib NA 118. He got 90, 180 votes while PML-N's Shazra Mansab Ali Khan got 78,000, votes.

Faisal Niazi defeated the PML-N candidate in Khanewal PP-209 by getting 71,586 votes. 

Muhammad Muzaffar Khan of PTI got 59, 957 votes in the PP-241 Bahawalnagar polls while his opponent Amanullah Sattar of PML-N got 48,147 votes.

See also: Counting of votes kicks off as polling in by-elections ends

In the NA-157 by-polls,  PPP's Ali Musa won with 79743 votes followed by PTI's Mehr Bano Qureshi with 59,993 votes

The NA-237 was claimed by PPP's Hakeem Baloch who defeated Imran Khan, according to the unofficial results. Baloch bagged 32,567 votes.

In Sheikhupura PP 139, PML-N defeated Tehreek-e-Insaf. Iftikhar Ahmad of PML-N was successful by getting 40,829 votes, while his opponent Muhammad Abubakar of PTI got 37, 712 votes.

Karachi’s NA 239 went to PTI chairman Imran Khan who got 50,000 beating  MQM Pakistan's Nair Raza.