PTI wins NA-245 Karachi by-polls

By: News Desk
Published: 08:38 AM, 22 Aug, 2022
PTI wins NA-245 Karachi by-polls
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has retained the NA-245 seat of Karachi in the by-poll held for the election of the constituency’s new lawmaker after the seat fell vacant following the death of Aamir Liaquat Hussain, who was elected on a PTI ticket in 2018.

The polling process started at 8am and continued till 5pm today (Sunday). However, the polling time was extended by an hour at Polling Stations 55, 143 and 144. Aamir Liaquat beat Dr Farooq Sattar in 2018 after securing 56,673 votes.

Unofficial results from 263 polling stations showed PTI's Mehmood Maulvi secured the seat with 29,475 votes.

MQM-P's Mueed Anwar was in second with 13,193 votes, TLP's Muhammed Ahmed Raza secured 9,836 votes, Farooq Sattar bagged 3,479 votes and MQM-H came last with 1,177 votes.

As per the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) the voter turnout was 11.8% in the by-poll.

The polling for the by-poll was held amid strict security on the 263 polling stations. Out of the 263, 60 were declared sensitive and 203 most sensitive.

PTI chairman Imran Khan congratulated Mehmood Maulvi and PTI’s Karachi team over victory on Twitter.

“Congratulations to Mahmood Maulvi & Team PTI Karachi for victory in the NA 245 election today. InshaAllah we are moving forward in our movement for Haqeeqi Azadi,” he wrote.

PTI leader Ali Zaidi said that results showed who the people of Karachi are supporting.

“This was a difficult contest due to the rains. The whole city is destroyed yet people came out to vote,” said the PTI leader.