Sri Lanka beat India by three wickets in 3rd ODI

Published: 08:33 PM, 23 Jul, 2021
Sri Lanka beat India by three wickets in 3rd ODI
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Avishka Fernando and Bhanuka Rajapaksa hit half centuries as Sri Lanka beat India by three wickets for a consolation win in the rain-hit third one-day international on Friday.

Chasing 226 for victory in the reduced 47-overs-a-side contest, Sri Lanka depended on a 109-run second-wicket stand between Fernando (76) and Rajapaksa (65) to achieve their target with 48 balls to spare in Colombo. 

India won the three-match series 2-1.

Debutant leg-spinner Rahul Chahar returned figures of 3-54, taking key wickets including Fernando to put Sri Lanka in trouble before Ramesh Mendis steered the team home with an unbeaten 15.

Earlier spinners Akila Dananjaya and debutant Praveen Jayawickrama took three wickets each to help bowl out India for 225 in 43.1 overs.

The two sides will now play three Twenty20 internationals starting Sunday at the same venue.

Sri Lanka v India 3rd ODI scoreboard

Completed scoreboard of the rain-affected third and final one-day international between India and Sri Lanka in Colombo on Friday:

India (47 overs maximum)

P. Shaw lbw b Shanaka                 49

S. Dhawan c Bhanuka b Chameera        13

S. Samson c Fernando b Jayawickrama   46

M. Pandey c Bhanuka b Jayawickrama    11

S. Yadav lbw b Dananjaya              40

H. Pandya lbw b Jayawickrama          19

N. Rana c Bhanuka b Dananjaya          7

K. Gowtham lbw b Dananjaya             2

R. Chahar c and b Karunaratne         13

N. Saini c Fernando b Chameera        15

C. Sakariya not out                    0

Extras (lb1, w9)                      10

Total (all out, 43.1 overs)          225

Fall of wickets: 1-28 (Dhawan), 2-102 (Shaw,), 3-118 (Samson), 4-157 (Pandey), 5-179 (Pandya), 6-190 (Yadav), 7-194 (Gowtham), 8-195 (Rana), 9-224 (Chahar), 10-225 (Saini)

Bowling: Chameera 8.1-0-55-2 (w5), Dananjaya 10-0-44-3, Karunaratne 6-0-25-1 (w2), Jayawickrama 10-0-59-3 (w2), Shanaka 8-0-33-1, Mendis 1-0-8-0

Sri Lanka (target 227 from 47 overs)

A. Fernando c Shaw b Chahar           76

M. Bhanuka c Sakariya b Gowtham        7

B. Rajapaksa c Gowtham b Sakariya     65

D. de Silva c and b Sakariya           2

C. Asalanka lbw b Pandya              24

D. Shanaka c Pandey b Chahar           0

R. Mendis not out                     15

C. Karunaratne st Samson b Chahar      3

A. Dananjaya not out                   5

Extras (b4, lb6, nb5, w15)            30

Total (7 wickets, 39 overs)          227

Fall of wickets: 1-35 (Bhanuka), 2-144 (Rajapaksa), 3-151 (De Silva), 4-194 (Asalanka), 5-195 (Shanaka), 6-214 (Fernando), 7-220 (Karunaratne)

Did not bat: D. Chameera, P. Jayawickrama

Bowling: Saini 5-0-27-0 (w1, nb1), Sakariya 8-0-34-2 (w1, nb2), Chahar 10-0-54-3 (nb2), Gowtham 8-0-49-1 (w6), Pandya 5-0-43-1 (w7), Rana 3-0-10-0

Toss: India

Result: Sri Lanka won by three wickets

Series: India won the three-match series 2-1


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.