Records that made during Pakistan's crushing win over India

By: News Desk
Published: 08:45 AM, 25 Oct, 2021
India's captain Virat Kohli (C) congratulates his Pakistan's counterpart Babar Azam (L) and Mohammad Rizwan. AFP
Caption: India's captain Virat Kohli (C) congratulates his Pakistan's counterpart Babar Azam (L) and Mohammad Rizwan. AFP
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Pakistan have crushed India on Sunday by 10 wickets in their opening match of the World T20 campaign. Such a dominant performance was bound to bring new records as well and here is a look at the stats that reflect how Pakistan annihilate their arch-rival.

First win over India in World Cup

Pakistan recorded their first win in the men's T20 world cup against India, having failed in their previous five attempts. It was also the first time Pakistan won a men's world cup game - ODI or T20 against India, across 13 matches.

First 10-wicket T20 win for Pakistan

This win was Pakistan's first-ever by a ten-wicket margin in men's T20Is. Pakistan became only the fourth team to win a men's T20 World Cup game by ten wickets.

First 10-wicket T20 defeat for India

This defeat was the first 10-wicket defeat for India in men's T20Is. Earlier, there were three instants when India was defeated by nine wickets in a T20 International at the hands of Australia, West Indies and South Africa.

Second-highest chase in T20Is without losing a wicket

Pakistan successfully chased a target of 152 runs against India without losing a wicket. It was the second-highest chase in men's T20Is without losing a wicket. New Zealand's 169 against Pakistan in 2016 remains the highest when Kane Williamson and Martin Guptill shared an unbeaten 171-run opening stand.

Highest opening partnership in World T20

Mohammad Rizwan and Babar Azam mustered an unbeaten partnership of 152 that is now the highest opening partnership in the men's T20 World Cup. The previous highest was 145 between Chris Gayle and Devon Smith against South Africa in 2007. It is also the second-highest partnership for any wicket in the men's T20 World Cup, behind the 166-run stand between Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene against West Indies in 2010.

Third 150-plus partnership between Babar and Rizwan

It was the third 150-plus runs partnership for Pakistan in the T20I format - all three between Babar and Rizwan for the first wicket. Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan are the only other pair with multiple 150-plus partnerships in this format. Babar-Rizwan also became the first pair with a 150-plus stand against India in T20Is.

Highest score by Pakistani batter in T20 World Cup

Rizwan's unbeaten score of 79 is now the highest for Pakistan on men's T20 World Cup debut, while Babar's 68* is the second-highest on this list. Before this match, only Nasir Jamshed - 56 against New Zealand in 2012 - had a fifty on T20 World Cup debut for Pakistan.

Highest score by Pakistani captain in T20 World Cup

Babar Azam's unbeaten knock of 68 is the highest score by a Pakistan captain at the men's T20 World Cup, surpassing Shoaib Malik's 57 against Sri Lanka in 2007. It is also the second-highest score on captaincy debut in the men's T20 World Cup, behind the 88 by Chris Gayle against Australia in 2009. Earlier, Virat Kohli became the first Indian skipper to score a fifty at the men's T20 World Cup as he and Babar became the first pair of captains to score fifties in the same game at the men's T20 World Cup.

Lowest opening partnership or India

Indian openers only scored three runs for the first wicket partnership before Shaheen Afridi struck them by lightning. It is India’s lowest aggregate in a men's T20 World Cup game. The previous lowest was five runs, also against Pakistan during the group stage game of the 2007 edition.

First over wicket-taking record for Shaheen Afridi

Shaheen Shah Afridi has now taken 21 wickets across 59 occasions where he bowled the first over of a T20 innings. Since his T20 debut in February 2018, no other player took more than 13 wickets in the first over of T20 innings.

Categories : Latest, T20 World Cup