16-member AJK cabinet takes oath with ‘accountability’ top priority

By: News Desk      Published: 02:15 PM, 26 Aug, 2021
16-member AJK cabinet takes oath with ‘accountability’ top priority
Oath-taking ceremony of AJK cabinet.

A 16-member cabinet of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) took oath on Thursday, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

AJK President Barrister Sultan Mehmood Chaudhry administered the oath at a ceremony, which was held at the President House in Muzaffarabad, and was attended by a large number of members of the AJK Legislative Assembly, government secretaries, including Prime Minister Sardar Abdul Qayyum Niazi and Senior Minister Sardar Tanveer Ilyas.

However, pandemonium was witnessed as the President House’s hall ran out of space, prompting two ministers Khawaja Farooq and Abdul Majid Khan to stand on the stage and shout, “The House’s administration is undisciplined”, and member of the AJK Assembly Pir Mazhar Saeed to sit on the floor along with Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) workers and witness the oath-taking ceremony.

Those who took oath are Shahida Sagheer, who was directly elected to the legislative assembly, Azhar Sadiq, Chaudhry Arshad, Ali Shan Soni, Malik Zafar, Chaudhry Ikhlaq, Nisar Ansar Abdali, Muhammad Hussain, Faheem Rabbani, Mir Akbar, Khawaja Farooq, Chaudhry Rasheed, Deewan Chughtai, Akmal Sargala and Abdul Majid Khan.

Later, talking to 24News TV channel, the newly inducted minister Abdul Majid Khan said that the new government would legislate to give the right to vote to the Kashmiris living overseas. “We will introduce reforms in the AJK as per the vision of Prime Minister Imran Khan,” he said, and added, “Apart from that, the PTI government will hold corrupt elements of the past governments accountable. Our priority will be accountability and good governance.”