India's Rohit becomes leading run-getter in T20Is

Published: 10:36 PM, 26 Feb, 2022
India's Rohit becomes leading run-getter in T20Is
Caption: India's Shreyas Iyer (L) and Sri Lanka's Charith Asalanka shake hands after India's victory at the end of the second T20 international cricket match between India and Sri Lanka at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala.
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

India skipper Rohit Sharma on Thursday became the world's leading run-scorer in Twenty20 internationals, during his 44-run knock against Sri Lanka.

Rohit surpassed former India captain Virat Kohli (3,296) and New Zealand's Martin Guptill (3,299) after Sri Lanka invited the hosts to bat first at the start of the three-match series in Lucknow.

The 34-year-old Rohit, who recently became all-format skipper, put on an opening stand of 111 runs with Ishan Kishan before being bowled by Lahiru Kumara.

He has amassed 3,307 runs, including four centuries, in 123 T20 internationals since his debut in 2007.

Kohli, who has been rested for the series, is third on the list but amassed his runs in just 97 matches. Second-placed Guptill has played 112 matches.

India v Sri Lanka 2nd T20I scoreboard

Sri Lanka

P. Nissanka lbw b Kumar             75

D. Gunathilaka c V. Iyer b Jadeja   38

C. Asalanka lbw b Chahal             2

K. Mishara c S. Iyer b Patel         1

D. Chandimal c Sharma b Bumrah       9

D. Shanaka not out                  47

C. Karunaratne not out               0

Extras (lb7, w4)                    11

Total (5 wickets, 20 overs)        183

Did not bat: D. Chameera, P. Jayawickrama, L. Kumara, B. Fernando 

Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Gunathilaka), 2-71 (Asalanka), 3-76 (Mishara), 4-102 (Chandimal), 5-160 (Nissanka)

Bowling: Kumar 4-0-36-1 (w1), Bumrah 4-0-24-1 (w2), Patel 4-0-52-1 (w1), Chahal 4-0-27-1, Jadeja 4-0-37-1

India (target 184)

R. Sharma b Chameera                1

I. Kishan c Shanaka b Kumara       16

S. Iyer not out                    74

S. Samson c Fernando b Kumara      39

R. Jadeja not out                  45

Extras (lb2, nb1, w8)              11

Total (3 wickets, 17.1 overs)     186

Did not bat: V. Iyer, D. Hooda, H. Patel, B. Kumar, J. Bumrah, Y. Chahal

Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Rohit), 2-44 (Kishan), 3-128 (Samson)

Bowling: Chameera 3.1-0-39-1 (w3), Fernando 4-0-47-0 (w1, nb1), Kumara 3-0-31-2 (w1), Jayawickrama 2-0-19-0, Karunaratne 3-0-24-0, Shanaka 2-0-24-0 (w3)

Toss: India

Result: India won by 7 wickets

Series: India lead the three-match series 2-0


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.