Battle for PSL crown enters in final hours

By: News Desk
Published: 02:09 PM, 27 Feb, 2022
Battle for PSL crown enters in final hours
Caption: Captains with the PSL7 trophy.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

It's a game night in Lahore. 

The star-studded Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans are going to ‘fight’ for what is expected to become the greatest final contests of the ongoing league match. The ‘battle’ has entered its final hours as the match will be played at 7:30 pm (PST) at Qaddafi stadium. Both Rizwan-XI and Shaheen-XI want the PSL trophy leaving behind the legacy and memorable moments for fans.

Qalandars under the captaincy of pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi will try to snatch the title from defending champions Multan Sultans in the final in Lahore today.

The task is not easy for Qalandars as Rizwan has not developed a habit of losing matches and won nine out of 10 league matches in the tournament along with the qualifier round decisive match. 

Interestingly, Shaheen-led Qalandars are the only team in the six-team league who have not won the PSL title since its launching in 2016 as they lost to Karachi Kings in the only final they played in 2020.

"After Friday night's incredible win we want to settle for nothing but the PSL trophy," said Shaheen in the post-match ceremony.

Also Read: Security alert issued ahead of PSL final

Rizwan pinned his hope with his teammates and commented, "It has been an amazing tournament for us and I, as captain, could not have asked more from my players.”

The star-studded Qalandars have Fakhar Zaman, Muhammad Hafeez and Shaheen Shah Afridi while on the other hand Rizwan and opening partner Shan Masood are in outstanding performance.

Sultans also have power hitters in Western Australian Tim David and former South African Rilee Rossouw. Their attack has Lahore-born former South African Imran Tahir, Shahnawaz Dahani and Khushdil Shah who all have 16 wickets in the tournament.

Also Read: PSL-7 winner to take away millions in cash prize

Shaheen is the spearhead of Qalandars' attack with 17 wickets while newcomer slinger Zaman Khan (16) and Pakistan international Haris Rauf has 15 wickets.

The Police, security forces and agencies have been deployed to provide protection to players, match officials and the fans so they could play and watch hassle-free PSL final

The officials have made it clear that fans can only enter in the stadium before the start of the match and directed to bring CNIC, ticket and COVID-19 certification card.