25-member Punjab cabinet likely in first phase

By: News Desk
Published: 11:20 AM, 27 Jul, 2022
25-member Punjab cabinet likely in first phase
Caption: Representational image.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Punjab cabinet to be formed with Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi as the provincial chief minister will initially consist of 25 members, reported 24NewsHD TV channel on Wednesday.  

Names of Raja Basharat, Sibtain Khan, Usman Buzdar, Yasmin Rashid, Hafiz Ammar Yasir, Shahabuddin Seharr, Ghazanfar Abbas Cheena, Taimur Bhatti, Faisal Cheema, Rafaqat Gilani, Murad Raas, Hashim Jawan Bakht, Chaudhry Zaheeruddin, Ali Afzal Sahi, Zain Qureshi, Aslam Iqbal, Rana Shehbaz, Saifuddin Khosa, Raja Humayun Yasir and Rashid Hafeez are under consideration for different ministerial portfolios. 

On the other hand, names of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) Mehmoodur Rasheed and Sibtain Khan are doing rounds for the seat of Punjab Assembly speaker. 

The Supreme Court had yesterday (July 26, 2022) declared Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi as the Punjab chief minister after declaring the ruling given by the provincial assembly deputy speaker ‘null and void’ under which 10 votes of the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) MPAs cast in the favour of Chaudhry Pervaiz in the Punjab CM election had been deducted from total 186 votes he had secured.  

Reporter: Qazzafi Butt