Pakistan axe Hafeez, Fakhar, Wahab as T20 squad for South Africa series announced

Hafeez's reaction to his ouster is awesome

By: News Desk
Published: 02:44 PM, 31 Jan, 2021
Pakistan axe Hafeez, Fakhar, Wahab as T20 squad for South Africa series announced
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Pakistan on Sunday announced a T20 squad against South Africa. There will be three T20s between Pakistan and South Africa on February 11, 13 and 14 at 3:30 pm at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore. 

The team comprised: Babar Azam (Captain), Amer Yamin, Amad Butt, Asif Ali, Danish Azizi, Faheem Ashraf, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Ifkhikhar Ahmed, Khusdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Zafar Gohar and Zahid Mehmood. 

The national T20 was announced by Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim in a press conference.

In a one-line reaction to his ouster from the team, Muhammad Hafeez, who performed very well in the last T20I series Pakistan played against New Zealand, in a tweet said “Allah Almighty is with those who show patience.”

In-form batsman Hafeez and struggling opener Fakhar Zaman are absentees from the Pakistan squad named by selectors Sunday for the Twenty20 international series.

The 40-year-old Hafeez is in the form of his life, scoring 502 runs in his last 12 Twenty20 internationals at an average of 100.40 with a strike rate of 153. But chief selector Mohammad Waseem said the senior batsman was not available for the series. "There are no questions over Hafeez's performance, but he has not given his availability on February 3 when the squad will go in a bio-secure environment," said Waseem while announcing the squad.

Hafeez is currently featuring in the T10 league in Abu Dhabi, which finishes on February 6.

Pakistan and South Africa will play three Twenty20 matches -- all in Lahore -- on February 11, 13 and 14.

Waseem said current form, as well as this year's Twenty20 World Cup in India, were considered for selection.

Zaman was in poor form, having managed just 97 runs in his last ten matches. He also missed the Twenty20 series in New Zealand in December following a positive Covid-19 test.

Babar Azam will lead the squad, which also sees comebacks for pacer Hasan Ali, all-rounder Aamer Yamin and batsman Asif Ali.

Uncapped leg-spinner Zahid Mahmood, all-rounder Amad Butt and batsman Danish Aziz are also part of the 20-man squad, while pacer Wahab Riaz is left out.

Pakistan lead the two-match Test series 1-0 after beating South Africa by seven wickets in Karachi on Friday.

They begin the second Test in Rawalpindi on Thursday.

Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Haider Ali, Khushdil Shah, Hussian Talat, Danish Aziz, Asif Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Zafar Gohar, Faheem Ashraf, Aamer Yamin, Amad Butt, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hussain, Hasan Ali, Usman Qadir, Zahid Mahmood