After winning toss, Karachi Kings send Islamabad into bat

By: News Desk
Published: 06:42 PM, 1 Mar, 2020
After winning toss, Karachi Kings send Islamabad into bat
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Karachi Kings won the toss on Sunday and elected to field against Islamabad United in the 14th match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2020 being played at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium. The match will start at 7pm.

After winning the toss, Kings captain Imad Wasim said they will try to exploit some moisture in the pitch. “We will not repeat our past mistakes and players will give their 100 percent,” he added.

Islamabad United captain Shadab Khan said they have made two changes in the side that played the last match.

The 2016 and 2018 winners of the tournament, Islamabad United have an excellent record in the tournament. Karachi Kings, on the other hand, have yet to lift the title. In the last four tournaments, the Kings have finished third in 2017 and 2018 and finished fourth in 2016 and 2019.

During the current edition too, the Kings’ performance has not been up to the mark, having played three matches so far and only managing to win one match. They defeated Peshawar Zalmi by 10 runs and then lost to Quetta Gladiators by five wickets and to Multan Sultans by 52 runs.


Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (captain), Luke Ronchi (wk), Ahmad Butt, Faheem Ashraf, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Muhammad Musa, Rizwan Hussain, Dale Steyn, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Rumman Raees, Zafar Gohar, Phil Salt, Akif Javed, Dawid Malan, Saif Badar, Ahmed Safi Abdullah

Karachi Kings: Imad Wasim (captain), Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Amir, Aamir Yamin, Usama Mir, Umer Khan, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Sharjeel Khan, Cameron Delport, Ali Khan, Chadwick Walton, Umaid Asif, Mitchell McClenaghan, Awais Zia, Arshad Iqbal