Jahangir Tareen group announces support for Hamza Shehbaz

By: News Desk
Published: 09:49 AM, 2 Apr, 2022
Jahangir Tareen group announces support for Hamza Shehbaz
Caption: File photo.
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

‘Estranged’ member of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Jahangir Khan Tareen has announced his group’s (JKT) support for Leader of the Opposition in the Punjab Assembly and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Hamza Shehbaz in election to the seat of Punjab chief minister, reported 24NewsHD TV channel on Saturday. 

Ishaq Dar, former finance minister and a senior PML-N leader, currently living in London, announced that their talks with Jahangir Khan Tareen remained productive, and he welcomed JKT group’s cooperation from the bottom of his heart.

In a tweet, Ishaq Dar said the final round of talks with Jahangir Tareen was fruitful.

Hardly 10 hours ago, 24News TV channel had reported that PTI’s estranged Chheena group had announced its support for PML-Q leader Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi in election for the seat of Punjab chief minister.

A total of 14 members of the group have announced they will vote in favour of Ch Pervaiz Elahi.

The PML-Q leader had met the group on Thursday and the group had asked for 24 hours to reach a decision.

The group on Friday announced they will be backing the PM candidate for the post of CM

They include Ghazanfar Abbas Chheena, Amir Chheena, Inayat Shahani, Ali Raza Khaqwani, Aijaz Sultan, Muhammad Ahsan, Gulrez Afzal, Khwaja Dawood, Sardar Muhiuddin Khosa, Taimoor Ali Laali, Sardar Shahab-ud-Din, Faisal Farooq, Aijaz Khan, Ghulam Ali and Asghar Khan.