Bangladesh beat Australia by 23 runs in 1st T20I

Published: 06:56 PM, 3 Aug, 2021
Bangladesh beat Australia by 23 runs in 1st T20I
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Spinner Nasum Ahmed claimed four wickets as Bangladesh beat Australia by 23 runs in the opening Twenty20 international on Tuesday.

Nasum, a left-arm spinner, returned career-best figures of 4-19 to help dismiss Australia for 108 while chasing a target of 132 as Bangladesh took a 1-0 lead in the five-match series in Dhaka.

It was Bangladesh's first ever T20 win over Australia, whose four wins over The Tigers came in T20 World Cups. This is the first bilateral series between the two sides.

The second T20 is on Wednesday at the same venue.

Bangladesh v Australia 1st T20 scoreboard

Scoreboard of the opening Twenty20 international between Bangladesh and Australia in Dhaka on Tuesday:


Mohammad Naim b Zampa                       30

Soumya Sarkar b Hazlewood                    2

Mahmudullah Riyad c Henriques b Hazlewood   20

Shakib Al Hasan b Hazlewood                 36

Nurul Hasan c Marsh b Tye                    3

Afif Hossain b Starc                        23

Shamim Hossain b Starc                       4

Mahedi Hasan not out                         7

Extras (b1, lb1, w3, nb1)                    6

Total (7 wickets, 20 overs)                131

Fall of wickets: 1-15 (Soumya), 2-37 (Naim), 3-73 (Mahmudullah), 4-86 (Nurul), 5-104 (Shakib), 6-114 (Shamim), 7-131 (Afif)

Did not bat: Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed

Bowling: Starc 4-0-33-2 (w2, nb1), Hazlewood 4-0-24-3 (w1), Zampa 4-0-28-1, Tye 4-0-22-1, Agar 4-0-22-0

Australia (target 132)

A. Carey b Mahedi Hasan                      0

J. Philippe st Nurul Hasan b Nasum Ahmed     9

M. Marsh c Shoriful Islam b Nasum Ahmed     45

M. Henriques b Shakib                        1 

M. Wade c Mustafizur Rahman b Nasum Ahmed   13

A. Agar hit wicket b Nasum Ahmed             7 

A. Turner c Mahmudullah b Mustafizur Rahman  8

M. Starc b Mustafizur Rahman                14

A. Tye b Shoriful Islam                      0

A. Zampa c Afif Hossain b Shoriful Islam     0

J. Hazlewood not out                         2

Extras (lb2, w7)                             9

Total (all out, 20 overs)                  108

Fall of wickets: 1-0 (Carey), 2-10 (Philippe), 3-11 (Henriques), 4-49 (Wade), 5-71 (Agar), 6-84 (Marsh), 7-100 (Turner), 8-102 (Tye), 9-104 (Zampa), 10-108 (Starc)

Bowling: Mahedi 4-0-22-1 (w3), Nasum 4-0-19-4 (w1), Shakib 4-0-24-1 (w1), Mustafizur 4-0-16-2 (w1), Shoriful 3-0-19-2 (w1), Mahmudullah 1-0-6-0

Toss: Australia

Result: Bangladesh won by 23 runs


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.