Netherlands dominate Britain to win Olympic men's team sprint gold

Published: 05:39 PM, 3 Aug, 2021
Netherlands dominate Britain to win Olympic men's team sprint gold
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Netherlands crushed defending champions Britain to win the men's team sprint gold medal on Tuesday, ending their opponents' hopes of a fourth consecutive title in the event.

Roy van den Berg, Harrie Lavreysen and Jeffrey Hoogland set a new Olympic record of 41.369sec in the final at the Izu Velodrome, winning by more than three seconds.

The British team, who won the men's team sprint in Beijing, London and Rio, had to settle for silver but another medal meant Jason Kenny made history.

Kenny is the first athlete to win eight Olympic medals in track cycling, moving ahead of compatriots Chris Hoy and Bradley Wiggins, who both claimed seven.

Kenny is now level with Wiggins on eight medals overall at the top of the all-time list of British Olympic medallists. Wiggins also won a time trial gold in road racing.

But the British team of Kenny, Jack Carlin and Ryan Owens were outclassed by the Netherlands, who were hot favourites after winning the men's team sprint at each of the past three world championships. 

It was the Netherlands' first gold medal in men's track cycling since 1936, when Arie van Vliet won the 1km time trial.

France saw off Australia to take bronze in a time of 42.331.


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.