South Africa elect to bat in 5th West Indies T20

Published: 11:31 PM, 3 Jul, 2021
South Africa elect to bat in 5th West Indies T20
Caption: Temba Bavuma (L) of South Africa kneels for Black Lives Matter at the start of the 5th and final T20I between West Indies and South Africa.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

South Africa captain Temba Bavuma won the toss and chose to bat first against the West Indies in the final T20 International of their five-match contest at the National Cricket Stadium in Grenada on Saturday.

This is the first time in the series that a team has chosen to bat first, a decision no doubt influenced by the tourists’ failure to chase a target of 168 in the previous fixture two days earlier which allowed the home side to pull level at 2-2 and set up the finale as a series decider.

With West Indies all-rounder Fabian Allen sidelined by a shoulder injury sustained in the field on Tuesday, his place has been taken by Akeal Hosein, who also bowls left-arm orthodox spin. Hosein will be making his T20 International debut.

South Africa also have an injury concern with pacer Anrich Nortje resting a bruised knee.

Mindful of the spin-friendly conditions in the previous matches, the Proteas have drafted in another left-arm spinner, Bjorn Fortuin, in place of Nortje while their batting line-up has been adjusted with opening batsman Reeza Hendricks dropped and all-rounder Wiaan Mulder coming into the middle-order.

Teams: West Indies – Kieron Pollard (capt), Evin Lewis, Lendl Simmons, Chris Gayle, Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Shimron Hetmyer, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Akeal Hosein, Obed McCoy, Fidel Edwards.

South Africa – Temba Bavuma (capt), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, George Linde, Kagiso Rabada, Bjorn Fortuin, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi.


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.