Huge blow to Imran Khan as Yousaf Raza Gilani wins Senate election

By: News Desk      Published: 05:46 PM, 3 Mar, 2021
Huge blow to Imran Khan as Yousaf Raza Gilani wins Senate election

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf faced a huge blow as it lost Senate elections to the Pakistan Democratic Movement in the National Assembly, reported 24News channel.

PDM's candidate Yousaf Raza Gillani defeated PTI's candidate and Finance Minister Hafeez Sheikh.

Gillani took 169 votes while Hafeez Sheikh could get only 164 votes. Hafeez Sheikh congratulated Yousuf Gillani upon his victory.

The result means PM Imran Khan has lost the majority in the National Assembly as touted by Asif Ali Zardari and a mid-term election or no-confidence motion could also be in the offing. Seven votes were rejected.

However, Fozia Arshad of PTI won the election from the National Assembly taking 176 votes while PDM’s candidate Farzana Kausar of PML-N could take 161 votes.


In Sindh Assembly, a total of 167 votes were cast with six votes rejected.

Pakistan People’s Party won seven seats out of 11 seats contested from the Sindh Assembly. PTI got two seats while MQM-P also won on two seats.

Pakistan People’s Party’s Sherry Rehman (22 votes), Salim Mandviwala (20 votes), Taj Haider (20 votes) Jam Mehtab Hussain Dahar (19 votes) and Shahadat Awan (19 votes) declared winners on general seats.

MQM-P's Faisal Sabazwari also elected Senator after getting 22 votes and PTI’s Faisal Vawda also won on a general seat from Sindh with 20 votes.

Pakistan People’s Party’s Palwasha Khan became a senator on woman seats after getting 60 votes. MQM-P’s Khalida Attayab also won the Senate election on women seats after gaining 57 votes.

PPP’s Farooq H Naik won on technocrat seat with 61 votes while PTI’s candidate on technocrat seat Saifullah Abro also won the election after gaining 57 votes.


In Balochistan, there were no surprises as the government coalition won eight seats and the opposition alliance won 4 seats, as was predicted considering their strength in the assembly.

The government coalition five seats on general seats while two opposition candidates won on general seats. An independent candidate from Abdul Qadir has also been elected as Senator on a general seat from the province. He was being supported by the leading party in the Balochistan coalition government, Balochistan Awami Party. Awami National Party's Arbab Umar Farooq also elected Senator from Balochistan. He had the support of the government alliance.

Abdul Ghafoor Haideri of JUI-F and Muhammad Qasim Ronjo of BNP-Mengal also elected senators on the general seats. Bothe JUI-F and BNP-Mengal are component parties of the opposition alliance PDM.

On technocrat seats, Balochistan Awami Party’s Saeed Ahmed Hashmi and PDM’s Nasim Ahsan of BNP won the election.

The minority seat also went to Balochistan Awami Party as its candidate Dinesh Kumar returned as a winner.


Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf won 10 Senate seats from Khyber PakhtunKhwa. PTI won five out of seven general seats while opposition could only won two. PTI sweeps all five seats from women, technocrat and minority seats.

On general seats, PTI’s Shibli Faraz, Mohsin Aziz, Liaquat Tarkai, Zeshan Khanzada and Faisal Salim won their elections. The coalition party Balochistan Awami Party’s Faisal Saleem also won on the general seat.

From opposition, ANP’s Hidayatullah and JUI’s Maulana Attaur Rehman also won their seats.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf won two technocrat seats. PTI’s Dost Muhammad Khan won the seat by taking 59 votes and Humayun Memon won the seats by taking 49 votes. PPP’s stalwart Farhatullah Babar lost the election on technocrat seat as he could get only 34 votes.

On women seats, PTI’s Dr Sania Nashtar and Falak Naz were declared winners while PTI’s Gurdeep Singh won on the minority seat.


In Punjab, both Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) managed to get representation in the Senate according to their numerical strengths as all candidates of both the parties were elected unopposed on 11 Punjab seats.

The effort of electing members without election was led by Speaker Punjab Assembly Ch Parvaiz Elahi and also prevented the chance of horse-trading. PTI grabbed five while the PML-N grabbed five seats. Out of seven general seats reserved for the Senate, both PTI and the PML-N got three seats each while the seventh one was grabbed by PML-Q.

Similarly, both PTI and the PML-N got one seat each of a technocrat. Likewise, both the parties also managed to get one seat each reserved for women. 

PTI’s Saifullah Niazi, Ijaz Ahmed Chaudhry and Aun Abbas were elected unopposed on three general seats while PML-Q’s Kamil Ali Agha was elected unopposed on a general seat. PTI’s Barrister Ali Zafar was elected on the seat of a technocrat while Dr Zarqa Taimur of the party was declared successful on a woman seat. 

Similarly, PML-N’s Irfan Siddiqui, Sajid Mir and Afnan Khan were declared successful on three general seats while Azam Nazir Tarar of the party was elected as Senator unopposed on the seat of a technocrat. Sadia Abbasi of the PML-N grabbed a woman seat. 

Categories : Pakistan, National