Mendis, Rajapaksa help Sri Lanka seal tense Asia Cup win

Published: 11:43 PM, 3 Sep, 2022
Mendis, Rajapaksa help Sri Lanka seal tense Asia Cup win
Caption: Sri Lanka's Chamika Karunaratne (R) and Wanindu Hasaranga leave the field after winning the Asia Cup Twenty20 international cricket match between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Sharjah.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Kusal Mendis' fiery start and a key lower-order knock by Bhanuka Rajapaksa powered Sri Lanka to a four-wicket win over Afghanistan in their Asia Cup Super Four contest on Saturday.

Set 176 for victory, Sri Lanka leaned on an attacking 62-run opening stand between Pathum Nissanka (35) and Mendis (36) to achieve their target with five balls to spare at Sharjah.

Afghanistan's bowlers got regular wickets to dent Sri Lanka's middle-order but Rajapaksa's 31 off 14 balls and a quickfire 16 not out from Wanindu Hasaranga helped them achieve the highest chase at the desert venue.

Earlier, Rahmanullah Gurbaz smashed 84 to guide Afghanistan to 175-6, a total that could have been bigger had Sri Lankan bowlers not hurt the Afghans with late strikes.

Gurbaz's effort came in vain after he put on a key second-wicket stand of 93 with Ibrahim Zadran, who made 40, after Afghanistan were made to bat first.

Afghanistan, who had crushed Sri Lanka and Bangladesh to move into the Super Four stage, managed just 37 runs in the last five overs and lost five wickets.

Dilshan Madushanka, a left-arm quick, took two wickets while fellow fast bowler Asitha Fernando and spinner Maheesh Theekshana claimed one each.

In reply, Sri Lankan openers Nissanka and Mendis started strongly in the powerplay.

Nissanka attacked the bowlers with a few boundaries and then Mendis took over, smashing leg-spinner Rashid Khan for two sixes to bring up his team's fifty.

Fast bowler Naveen-ul-Haq broke through remove Mendis after the batsman's 19-ball blitz.

Nissanka attempted to keep up the charge but fell to spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman with Gurbaz taking a sharp catch.

Danushka Gunathilaka made 33 to keep the chase on track despite the loss of Charith Asalanka and skipper Dasun Shanaka at the other end.

He found company in the form of Rajapaksa, who smashed Naveen for two fours and one six in an 18-run 16th over to bring down the asking rate.

Rashid bowled Gunathilaka but new man Hasaranga hit three boundaries to take Sri Lanka near their target.

Rajapaksa was out in the 19th over before Chamika Karunaratne hit the winning boundary.

Afghanistan v Sri Lanka, Asia Cup T20 scoreboard

Scoreboard from the Asia Cup T20 international Super Four between Afghanistan and Sri Lanka in Sharjah on Saturday:


H. Zazai b Madushanka                      13

R. Gurbaz c de Silva b Fernando            84

I. Zadran c Fernando b Madushanka          40

N. Zadran run out (de Silva/Mendis)        17

M. Nabi c and b Theekshana                  1

R. Khan run out (Nissanka/Mendis)           9

K. Janat not out                            0

Extras (lb1, nb1, w9)                      11

Total (6 wickets, 20 overs)               175

Did not bat: S. Shinwari, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, F. Farooqi

Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Zazai), 2-139 (Gurbaz), 3-151 (Ibrahim), 4-166 (Nabi), 5-166 (Najibullah), 6-175 (Rashid)

Bowling: Theekshana 4-0-29-1, Fernando 4-0-34-1, Madushanka 4-0-37-2, Hasaranga 4-0-23-0, Karunaratne 2-0-29-0, Shanaka 2-0-22-0

Sri Lanka (target 176)

P. Nissanka c Gurbaz b Mujeeb Ur Rahman    35

K. Mendis c Ibrahim b Naveen-ul-Haq        36

C. Asalanka b Nabi                          8

D. Gunathilaka b Rashid                    33

D. Shanaka c Najibullah b Mujeeb Ur Rahman 10

B. Rajapaksa b Naveen-ul-Haq               31

W. Hasaranga de Silva not out              16

C. Karunaratne not out                      5

Extras (lb2, w3)                            5

Total (6 wickets, 19.1 overs)             179

Did not bat: M. Theekshana, A. Fernando, D. Madushanka

Fall of wickets: 1-62 (Mendis), 2-80 (Nissanka), 3-94 (Asalanka), 4-119 (Shanaka), 5-151 (Gunathilaka), 6-174 (Rajapaksa)

Bowling: Farooqi 3.1-0-34-0 (w1), Mujeeb Ur Rahman 4-0-30-2 (w1), Naveen-ul-Haq 4-0-40-2 (w1), Rashid 4-0-39-1, Nabi 4-0-34-1

Toss: Sri Lanka

Result: Sri Lanka won by four wickets


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.