New Zealand's Ajaz claims record 10-for but India on top in second Test

By: AFP      Published: 06:15 PM, 4 Dec, 2021
India New Zealand second test
New Zealand's Ajaz Patel bowls on the second day of the second Test cricket match between India and New Zealand.

New Zealand's Mumbai-born spinner Ajaz Patel took a record 10 wickets in an innings but their batsmen collapsed to leave India in control of the second Test on Saturday's day two.

Ajaz emulated England's Jim Laker (1956 v Australia) and Indian spin legend Anil Kumble (1999 v Pakistan) to complete his perfect 10 in the second session and bowl out India for 325.

But New Zealand's batsmen collapsed to 62 all out and India were 332 ahead by stumps at the Wankhede Stadium after not enforcing the follow-on and reaching 69 for 0 in their second innings.

First-innings centurion Mayank Agarwal, on 38, and Cheteshwar Pujara, on 29, made to open the innings after Shubman Gill suffered a blow to his elbow while fielding and could not take field, were batting.

Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin claimed four wickets and fast bowler Mohammed Siraj took three in the New Zealand innings on a day when Ajaz ruled with his left-arm spin.

Ajaz, who took four wickets on day one including Pujara and skipper Virat Kohli for ducks, rattled India in the first session with wickets in successive balls to be on a hat-trick.

Ajaz sent back Agarwal, who started the day on 120 with India on 221-4, to break a 67-run stand with Axar.

The wily spinner soon got Axar lbw and wrapped up the Indian innings with Siraj his final scalp as the Kiwi players surrounded their hero with hugs and applause.

He sent down 47.5 overs in four spells out of a Kiwi total of 109.5 and bowled almost unchanged on day two.

Ajaz returned figures of 10-119 but Agarwal's 150 and a 52 by Axar Patel helped India to a challenging total on a turning track.

In the New Zealand innings Siraj, who replaced injured Ishant Sharma in the team, struck early to send back Will Young for four.

He then got two wickets including stand-in-skipper Tom Latham for 10, and Ross Taylor, for one, on either side of overs to be on a hat-trick that was avoided by Henry Nicholls.

Axar then got Daryl Mitchell out for eight and soon fellow spinner Ashwin joined in to claim Nicholls as the Kiwis slipped further.

Kyle Jamieson top-scored with 17 but none of the Kiwi batsmen survived the bowling onslaught as they went down to the lowest-ever Test score against India by any side.

The previous lowest Test score in India was the home side's 75 against West Indies at Delhi in 1987.

India v New Zealand second Test scoreboard

Scoreboard at stumps on day two of the second and final Test between India and New Zealand in Mumbai on Saturday:

India 1st innings (overnight 221-4, M. Agarwal 120, W. Saha 25; Patel 4-73)

M. Agarwal c Blundell b Ajaz       150

S. Gill c Taylor b Ajaz             44

C. Pujara b Ajaz                     0

V. Kohli lbw b Ajaz                  0

S. Iyer c Blundell b Ajaz           18

W. Saha lbw Ajaz                    27

R. Ashwin b Ajaz                     0

A. Patel lbw b Ajaz                 52

J. Yadav c Ravindra b Ajaz          12

U. Yadav not out                     0

M. Siraj c Ravindra b Ajaz           4

Extras (b13, lb5)                   18

Total (all out, 109.5 overs)       325

Fall of wickets: 1-80 (Gill), 2-80 (Pujara), 3-80 (Kohli), 4-160 (Iyer), 5-224 (Saha), 6-224 (Ashwin), 7-291 (Agarwal), 8-316 (Axar), 9-321 (Jayant Yadav, 109.2 ov), 10-325 (Siraj)

Bowling: Southee 22-6-43-0, Jamieson 12-3-36-0, Patel 47.5-12-119-10, Somerville 19-0-80-0, Ravindra 4-0-20-0, Mitchell 5-3-9-0

New Zealand 1st innings

T. Latham c Iyer b Siraj            10

W. Young c Kohli b Siraj             4

D. Mitchell lbw b Patel              8

R. Taylor b Siraj                    1

H. Nicholls b Ashwin                 7

T. Blundell c Pujara b Ashwin        8

R. Ravindra c Kohli b J. Yadav       4

K. Jamieson c Iyer b Patel          17

T. Southee c sub (SA Yadav) b Ashwin 0

W. Somerville c Siraj b Ashwin       0

A. Patel not out                     0

Extras (lb1, nb2)                    3

Total (all out, 28.1 overs)         62

Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Young), 2-15 (Latham), 3-17 (Taylor), 4-27 (Mitchell), 5-31 (Nicholls), 6-38 (Ravindra), 7-53 (Blundell), 8-53 (Southee), 9-62 (Somerville), 10-62 (Jamieson)

Bowling: Umesh 5-2-7-0, Siraj 4-0-19-3, Axar 9.1-3-14-2, Ashwin 8-2-8-4 (nb1), Jayant 2-0-13-1 (nb1)

India 2nd innings

M. Agarwal not out                  38

C. Pujara not out                   29

Extras (lb2)                         2

Total (no loss, 21 overs)           69

Yet to bat: S. Gill, V. Kohli, S. Iyer, J. Yadav, W. Saha, R. Ashwin, A. Patel, M. Siraj, U. Yadav 

Bowling: Southee 5-0-14-0, Ajaz 9-1-35-0, Jamieson 4-2-5-0, Somerville 2-0-9-0, Ravindra 1-0-4-0

Toss: India


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.