India set up 173-run target against Pakistan in U-19 World Cup semi

By: News Desk
Published: 04:45 PM, 4 Feb, 2020
Haider Ali departs soon after making half-century
Caption: Haider Ali departs soon after making half-century. Twitter photo
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Indian bowlers put their side right on top in ICC Under-19 World Cup semi-final as Pakistan were bowled out for meagre 172 in 43.1 overs.

Pakistan captain Rohail Nazir found some form at last in the semi-final and hold one end intact until 42nd over but could not get support from the fellow teammates after the dismissal of opener Haider Ali.

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first as decision that Indian captain Priyam Garg happily accepted. Both sides went in with the same playing XI. This should be an interesting phase as this pitch responds to the new ball. Indian pacers have been in good form and Pakistan need to be wary of the early threat.

Sushant Mishra gave India first breakthrough in his first over and second of the match when he claimed the scalp of M Huraira (4) with 9 runs total on the board. Ravi Bishoni reduced Pakistan to 34-2 in ninth over when Fahad Munir departed without disturbing the scorers despite playing 16 balls.

Rohail and Haider added 50 runs for the third wicket and slowly as Pakistan have clawed their way back into this contest. Both batsmen were extremely calculated in their approach and established a good base for Pakistan only to be ruined by follow batsmen.

Departure of Haider in 26th over put the match in the India’s favours as they did not let any other batman to settle down. Haider scored 56 runs off 77 balls with the help of seven fours.

Rohail kept one intact but wickets were falling all around him and when he got out after scoring 62 runs off 102 balls with the help of six fours it was all but an end to Pakistan’s ambitions to reach 200 mark at least.

Mishra was top wicket-taker for India as he finished with figures of 3-28. Kartic Taygai and Ravi Bishnoi took two wickets apiece conceding 32 and 46 runs, respectively.


Pakistan U19: Haider Ali, Mohammad Huraira, Rohail Nazir(w/c), Fahad Munir, Qasim Akram, Mohammad Haris, Irfan Khan, Abbas Afridi, Tahir Hussain, Aamir Ali, Mohammad Amir Khan

India U19: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Divyansh Saxena, Tilak Varma, Priyam Garg(c), Dhruv Jurel(w), Siddhesh Veer, Atharva Ankolekar, Ravi Bishnoi, Sushant Mishra, Kartik Tyagi, Akash Singh

Categories : Latest, Sports