Zampa takes five wickets as Australia crush Bangladesh

Published: 05:37 PM, 4 Nov, 2021
David Warner
Caption: Australia's David Warner is bowled out by Bangladesh's Shoriful Islam (not pictured) during the ICC men’s Twenty20 World Cup cricket match between Australia and Bangladesh. AFP
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Adam Zampa claimed his maiden five-wicket haul to help Australia boost their semi-final hopes at the Twenty20 World Cup with an eight-wicket thrashing of Bangladesh on Thursday.

Zampa returned figures of 5-19 with his leg spin and combined with the Australian pace bowlers to skittle out Bangladesh for just 73 in the Super 12 contest in Dubai.

Skipper Aaron Finch, who hit 40, and David Warner put on 58 runs for the opening wicket as Australia romped home in 6.2 overs to move ahead of South Africa on net run-rate and boost their semi-final hopes.

Taskin Ahmed bowled Finch after the batsman smashed two fours and four sixes in his 20 ball knock, and Warner was out for 18 but the wickets remained minor blemishes in Australia's third win in four matches.

They are in direct race with the Proteas to seal a final four spot from Group 1 led by England who have effectively sealed one of the two semi-final places with four wins in as many games.

South Africa play England on Saturday after Australia take on the West Indies.

Left-arm quick Mitchell Starc bowled Liton Das for nought on the third delivery of the innings to set the tone for Australia's dominance.

Soumya Sarkar dragged a Josh Hazlewood delivery onto his stumps and Glenn Maxwell trapped Mushfiqur Rahim lbw for one as Bangladesh slipped to 10-3 and then 33-5 in 6.1 overs.

Captain Mahmudullah Riyad, who made 16, then put up some resistence with a 29-run partnership with Shamim Hossain, who scored 19, before Zampa broke through with his second wicket.

Zampa struck again off successive balls of his third over to be on a hat-trick that nearly came through in his opening ball of his final over but wicketkeeper Matthew Wade dropped a catch.

Zampa then took two more to wrap up the innings in 15 overs and surpass his previous T20 best of 3-14.

Bangladesh, who have now lost all their five matches, witnessed a second straight collapse after they were bowled out for 84 in the previous loss to South Africa.

Australia came out roaring as Finch and Warner punished the opposition bowlers with hits all around the ground.

Mustafizur Rahman was taken for 21 runs in the fourth over.

Mitchell Marsh hit the winning six in his five-ball 16.



Mohammad Naim c Cummins b Hazlewood    17

Liton Das b Starc                       0

Soumya Sarkar b Hazlewood               5

Mushfiqur Rahim  lbw b Maxwell          1

Mahmudullah Riyad c Wade b Starc       16

Afif Hossain c Finch b Zampa            0

Shamim Hossain c Wade b Zampa          19

Mahedi Hasan lbw b Zampa                0

Taskin Ahmed not out                    6

Mustafizur Rahman c Smith b Zampa       4

Shoriful Islam c Finch b Zampa          0

Extras (lb1, w4)                        5

Total (all out, 15 overs)              73

Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Liton), 2-6 (Soumya), 3-10 (Mushfiqur), 4-32 (Naim), 5-33 (Afif), 6-62 (Shamim), 7-62 (Mahedi), 8-65 (Mahmudullah), 9-73 (Mustafizur), 10-73 (Shoriful)

Bowling: Starc 4-0-21-2 (w2), Hazlewood 2-0-8-2, Maxwell 2-0-6-1 (w1), Cummins 3-0-18-0, Zampa 4-0-19-5 (w1)


D. Warner b Shoriful                   18

A. Finch b Taskin                      40

M. Marsh not out                       16

G. Maxwell not out                      0

Extras (lb1, nb1, w2)                   4

Total (2 wickets, 6.2 overs)           78

Did not bat: S. Smith, M. Stoinis, M. Wade, P. Cummins, M. Starc, Adam Zampa, J. Hazlewood

Fall of wickets: 1-58 (Finch), 2-67 (Warner)

Bowling: Taskin 3.2-0-36-1 (w1), Mustafizur 2-0-32-0 (w1), Shoriful Islam 1-0-9-1 (nb1)

Toss: Australia

Result: Australia won by eight wickets

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI), Nitin Menon (IND)

TV Umpire: Joel Wilson (WIS)

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Categories : Latest, T20 World Cup

Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.