Punjab Assembly session for CM election today

By: News Desk
Published: 01:02 AM, 6 Apr, 2022
Punjab Assembly session for CM election today
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Punjab Assembly session for the election of chief minister will be held today (Wednesday), 24NewsHD TV channel reported.

The session will start at 7:30pm.  Punjab Assembly Speaker Parvez Elahi and Opposition Leader in Punjab Assembly Hamza are in run for the top slot that has been falling vacant since March 28 when CM Usman Buzdar stepped down.

A couple of days ago,  the Punjab Assembly deputy speaker put off the session called to hold polling for the slot of the leader of the house after an altercation between women MPAs from the opposition and the government. 

Rumors were aired earlier on Tuesday that the deputy speaker summoned the Punjab Assembly session on the 16th but a spokesperson clarified the polling schedule.

To be elected as chief minister, a candidate needs at least 186 votes in the 371-member house. In the Punjab Assembly, the PTI has 183 lawmakers, PML-Q 10, PML-N 165, PPP seven, five are independent and one belongs to Rah-i-Haq.

According to the rules, if a candidate cannot get 186 votes, then re-polling will be held and on that, the candidates with the majority of the votes will become the Punjab Chief Minister.

The PTI-led government alliance has the support of four deviant members of PML-N and the ruling party itself is bewildered as 16 members of the Jahangir Tareen group have declared their support for the opposition.

Another influential group of Aleem Khan has also declared support for Hamza Shehbaz. All the strength seven members of the PPP have already shown their support for Hamza. The Cheena group claimed the support of 14 members that stood by Parvez Elahi.

Independent member Syeda Maimanat Mohsin (Jugnu Mohsin) joined PML-N. Independent members in the Punjab Assembly are Ch Bilal Asghar, Malik Ahmad Ali Aulakh, Ch Nisar Ali Khan and Qasim Abbas Khan while the Rah-e-Haq Party also has one vote.