Vote of confidence: How the day will proceed!

By: News Desk
Published: 03:08 AM, 6 Mar, 2021
Vote of confidence: How the day will proceed!
Caption: Prime Minister Imran Khan.–File photo
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Prime Minister Imran Khan will take the vote of confidence from members of the National Assembly today (Saturday, March 6). 

The National Assembly session will begin at 12:15pm with Speaker Asad Qaisar in the chair. The House proceedings will begin with two-point agenda. After recitation of verses from Holy Quran, Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi will table the resolution seeking vote of confidence for Prime Minister Imran Khan. The prime minister will seek the vote of confidence from the lawmakers under provision 7 of the Article 91 of the 1973 Constitution. Voters will get their names registered with designated persons within the National Assembly. 

Before the voting begins, bells will be rung in the House for five minutes. All lobbies of the National Assembly hall would be locked after arrival of all lawmakers in the assembly. Those who will vote for the prime minister, will go to the lobby from the right side of the speaker. Those who don’t want to vote for the prime minister will remain seated in the House. Votes will be counted and the National Assembly speaker will announce the result. The result will be sent to the President of Pakistan in writing immediately and the session will be prorogued. 

Opposition parties will boycott today’s session. A separate meeting of the opposition parties will be held at Sindh House. Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and Maryam Nawaz will attend the meeting of the opposition parties.