West Indies beat Bangladesh by three wickets in first Test

Published: 04:11 PM, 7 Feb, 2021
West Indies beat Bangladesh by three wickets in first Test
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Kayle Mayers scored a double century on his debut as West Indies beat Bangladesh by three wickets in the first Test in Chittagong on Sunday.

Mayers hit an unbeaten 210 off 310 balls while Nkrumah Bonner added 86 helping West Indies to 395-7 with just 1.3 overs left on the final day to complete the stunning run chase.

Mehidy Hasan picked up 4-113 for Bangladesh.

The second Test of the two-match series starts in Dhaka on February 11.


Final scoreboard at stumps on the fifth day in the first Test between Bangladesh and West Indies at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Sunday:

Bangladesh first innings 430 (Mehidy 103, Shakib 68, Shadman 59; Jomel Warrican 4-133) 

West Indies first innings 259 (Kraigg Brathwaite 76, Jermaine Blackwood 68; Mehidy Hasan 4-58)

Bangladesh second innings 223-8 declared (Mominul Haque 115, Liton Das 69; Jomel Warrican 3-57, Rahkeem Cornwall 3-81)

West Indies second innings (overnight 110-3)

Kraigg Brathwaite c sub b Mehidy         20

John Campbell lbw b Mehidy               23

Shayne Moseley lbw b Mehidy              12

Nkrumah Bonner lbw b Taijul              86

Kyle Mayers not out                     210

Jermaine Blackwood st Liton b Nayeem      9

Joshua Da Silva b Taijul Islam           20

Kemar Roach c sub-b Mehidy                0

Rahkeem Cornwall not out                  0

Extras (b11, lb4)                        15

Total (seven wickets; 127.3 overs)      395

Did not bat: Shannon Gabriel, Jomel Warrican

Fall of wickets: 1-39 (Campbell), 2-48 (Brathwaite), 3-59 (Moseley) 4-275 (Bonner), 5-292 (Blackwood), 6-392 (Da Silva), 7-394 (Roach)

Bowling: Mustafizur 13-1-71-0, Taijul 45-18-91-2, Mehidy 35-3-113-4, Nayeem 34.3-4-105-1

Result: West Indies win by three wickets

Series Result: West Indies lead series 1-0

Toss: Bangladesh

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG), Sharfuddoula Saikat (BAN)

TV umpire: Gazi Sohel (BAN)

Match referee: Neeyamur Rashid Rahul (BAN)


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.