Pakistan win toss, opt to field against Zimbabwe in 2nd T20I

By: News Desk      Published: 03:07 PM, 8 Nov, 2020
Pakistan win toss, opt to field against Zimbabwe in 2nd T20I

Pakistan has opted to field first after winning the toss in the second T20 International against Zimbabwe being played at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

No change was made in the Pakistani squad that won the first T20I on Friday last. Captain Babar Azam said on the occasion that the bowlers are performing well.

After registering a convincing six-wicket victory against visitors Zimbabwe in the first match, Babar Azam-led Pakistan will aim to clinch the three-match series by winning the second T20I. Pakistan and Zimbabwe are set to lock horns at Rawalpindi in the second T20I of the series on Sunday, scheduled to start at 04:00 PM IST.

After electing to bat first in the first T20I, Zimbabwe didn't register the best of starts. After suffering two setbacks in the powerplay, Wesley Madhevere slammed 70 off 48 deliveries to guide Zimbabwe to a daunting total of 156 runs. 

In response, skipper Babar Azam rose to the occasion and scored 82 off 55 deliveries to steer Pakistan to the victory. Veteran Mohammad Hafeez, living up to the expectations, scored a vital 32-ball 36 in the middle. Pakistan ultimately hunted down the total in the penultimate over to register a comprehensive win by six wickets. With no rest day in between two games, it indeed will be a tough task for players to manage their fatigue levels.

The final match is on Tuesday, also in Rawalpindi.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan, Khushdil Shah, Faheem Ashraf, Usman Qadir, Wahab Riaz, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain 

Zimbabwe: Chamu Chibhabha (captain), Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Tendai Chisoro, Wesley Madhevere, Elton Chigumbura, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Donald Tiripano, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams

 Umpires: Ahsan Raza (PAK) and Rashid Riaz (PAK)

TV umpire: Aleem Dar (PAK) 

Match referee: Mohammad Javed (PAK)