91% Muslims voted against Modi’s BJP in Delhi elections

By: News Desk
Published: 12:07 PM, 9 Feb, 2020
91% Muslims voted against Modi’s BJP in Delhi elections
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Delhi elections have concluded and the exit polls give a landslide majority to Aam Admi Party led by Arvind Kejriwal. While the exit polls show that BJP may improve its tally, AAP is the clear winner in the state. Axis poll which is telecast by India Today, in fact, predicted the Aaam Aadmi Party to win 63 seats, and the BJP to win seven seats. The Congress , just like in 2015, is unlikely to win any seat in the 70-member Delhi assembly.

There are certain other revelations that come to the fore as per the analysis done by Axis poll during their Delhi elections exit polls.

Axis poll analysed that over 69% of the Muslim population of Delhi consolidated and voted for Arvind Kejriwal led AAP. 15% of the Muslim population voted for Congress.

According to the figures released by Axis poll, while 69% Muslims voted for AAP and 15% voted for Congress, only a 9% voted for BJP. It is thus safe to say that 91% Muslims consolidated and voted against the BJP.

According the Axis polls, the Muslims of Delhi, 91% of whom voted against BJP said that they consolidated behind Aam Admi Party (which got 69% Muslim votes) because they thought that AAP was better poised to defeat BJP than the Congress.

Among other communities, the India Today-Axis My India exit poll found that AAP enjoyed 54 percent and 67 percent votes among the OBC and Balmiki voters, respectively. The share for BJP among these communities was 38 percent and 18 percent respectively.

The Congress, that has historically secured most OBC and Balmiki votes, got just 5 and 9 percent votes, respectively, from these communities.

It is thus also safe to conclude that while the Muslim community of Delhi voted as a bloc, the Hindu votes were far too fragmented along OBC, SC caste lines etc.

It is pertinent to note here that the constituency comprises Muslim dominated assembly segments like the riot-hit Seelampur, which recorded a turnout of 71.4%. Mustafabad, Babarpur, and Seema Puri, all Muslim dominated areas recorded 70.55%, 65.4%, and 68.08% voter turnouts, respectively.

Voter turnout in Shahdara was 65.78 percent whereas it was 68.36 percent in Matia Mahal.

The constituencies with substantial Muslim population which registered a turnout less than the overall turnout were Chandni Chowk was recorded at 60.91 percent, Rithala at 59.62 percent, Ballimaran at 58.28 percent, and Okhla at 58.83 percent.

In the run-up to the Delhi Assembly polls, Muslim-dominated areas of Seelampur saw unprecedented violence led by Muslim mobs to protest against the Citizenship Amendment Act.

Delhi was the epicentre of the anti-CAA riots, which later spread to different parts of the country. There have been serious allegations against Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP for instigating riots in Delhi by inciting Muslim mobs against the Modi government ahead of the Delhi assembly elections under the guise of protesting against the Citizenship Amendment Act.