Boycotts galore as Sindh assembly votes on Senate seat

Polling under way as PTI, MQM-P, GDA lawmakers stayed away: PPP’s Nisar Khorro favourite

By: News Desk
Published: 11:14 AM, 9 Mar, 2022
Boycotts galore as Sindh assembly votes on Senate seat
Caption: File photo
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The polling was underway on Wednesday in the Sindh Assembly building on a Senate seat that fell vacant after the disqualification of PTI leader Faisal Vawda from Sindh amid boycotts by PTI, MQM-P and GDA MPAs, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

The polling will continue till 4pm without any break. Four candidates have been contesting for the vacant seat. 

The PTI took this decision as the Grand Opposition Alliance (GDA) categorically refused to come to the assembly to vote for the PTI candidate and MQM-P too did not show up at the meeting held at the residence of PTI leader Agha Arsalan.

PTI’s Sindh president and Maritime Affairs Minister Ali Zaidi tweeted, “The PTI-led opposition will boycott Senate election in Sindh Assembly on the seat vacated due to Faisal Vawda’s disqualification.

“Reason: Murad Ali Shah also disqualified on dual nationality and his case is still pending with honourable Supreme Court. Humbly request this case be heard as soon as possible,” he added.

Boycotts have paved the way for Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate Nisar Khuhro to win the election easily as PPP has 99 seats in the 168-strong house. 

PTI Agha Arsalan had filed nomination papers but the PTI and its allies at the Centre have announced to boycott the elections. 

The ECP had disqualified Faisal Vawda for lifetime under Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution on Feb 9.

The ECP bench led by Chief Election Commissioner Faisal Sultan Raja had disqualified Vawda for concealing his dual nationality and ordered him to return the salary and other benefits he had received as a minister and a National Assembly member within two months. 

Reporter Azad Nahriyo