Pakistan register innings victory over Bangladesh

Published: 11:54 AM, 10 Feb, 2020
Pakistan register innings victory over Bangladesh
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Pakistan completed a crushing innings and 44-run victory over Bangladesh on the fourth morning on Monday, taking a 1-0 lead in the two-Test series.

Bangladesh were bowled out for 168 in their second innings after resuming the day on 126-6 as Pakistan's pace and spin attack was too hot to handle despite a flat Rawalpindi stadium pitch.

Fast bowler Naseem Shah, who at 16 years and 359 days became the youngest bowler to take a Test hat-trick on Sunday, finished with 4-26 and was declared man of the match.

Despite Naseem being unavailable to bowl on Monday with rib pain, Pakistan mopped up the last four wickets in 90 minutes, inflicting their 10th defeat on Bangladesh in 11 matches with one draw. 

Bangladesh skipper Mominul Haque started the day confidently, square-driving paceman Shaheen Shah Afridi for his fifth boundary in the first over, but then fell leg-before in the same over for 41. Liton Das (29) and tail-ender Rubel Hossain kept Pakistan at bay for 11.5 overs before Mohammad Abbas trapped Rubel leg-before for five.

Leg-spinner Yasir Shah dismissed Das lbw and had Abu Jayed for three to finish with 4-58 and complete the win. With the victory, Pakistan gained 60 points in the World Test Championship, taking their tally to 140 points. 

India lead the nine-team championship table with 360 points followed by Australia (246) and England 146. Top two teams on the championship table will play the final at Lord's in June 2021. 

Pakistan's victory was on the cards after they bowled Bangladesh out for 233 in the first innings and then piled up 445 in reply, with Babar Azam smashing 143 and Shan Masood 100. This becomes Bangladesh's sixth defeat in 14 months, including their fifth by an innings. They have yet to score a championship point in three Tests. 

The second Test starts in Karachi -- after a two months break -- from April 5-9. Bangladesh had only agreed to tour Pakistan in three phases due to security concerns over a long stay, first playing a three-match Twenty20 series last month. 

They will also play a one-day international in Karachi (April 3) before the second Test.


Bangladesh 1st innings 233 (Mohammad Mithun 63, Najmul Hossain Shanto 44; Shaheen Shah Afridi 4-53)

Pakistan 1st innings 445 (Babar Azam 143, Shan Masood 100, Haris Sohail 75;  Abu Jayed 3-86, Rubel Hossain 3-113)

Bangladesh 2nd innings

Tamim Iqbal lbw Yasir                  34

Saif Hassan b Naseem                   16

Najmul Hossain Shanto lbw Naseem       38 

Mominul Haque lbw Shaheen              41

Taijul Islam lbw Naseem                 0

Mahmudullah c Sohail b Naseem           0

Mohammad Mithun b Yasir                 0

Liton Das lbw Yasir                    29

Rubel Hossain lbw Abbas                 5

Abu Jayed  c Shafiq b Yasir             3

Ebadat Hossain not out                  0

Extras: (w2)                            2

Total: (all out; 62.2 overs)          168       

Fall of wickets: 1-39 (Saif Hassan, 8.6 ov), 2-53 (Tamim Iqbal), 3-124 (Shanto), 4-124 (Islam), 5-124 (Mahmudullah), 6-126 (Mithun), 7-130 (Haque), 8-156 (Rubel), 9-165 (Das), 10-168 (Abu Jayed)

Bowling: Shaheen 16-6-39-1 (w1), Abbas 17.4-6-33-1 (w1), Naseem 8.2-2-26-4, Yasir 17.2-3-58-4, Shafiq 3-0-12-0

Result: Pakistan won by an innings and 44 runs

Toss: Pakistan

Umpires: Nigel Llong (ENG) and Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)


Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.