AJK by-polls: tough contest in PPP, PTI, PML-N as counting starts  

By: News Desk      Published: 07:12 PM, 10 Oct, 2021
AJK by-polls: tough contest in PPP, PTI, PML-N as counting starts  

The polling process of the by-elections in two constituencies LA-12 Kotli and LA-3 Mirpur, Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) ended in peaceful manners and the counting of votes started on Sunday.

According to the 24News HD TV channel, turnout during the polling in rural areas remained very low.

During the polling, more than 2,000 police personnel were deployed to maintain law and order.

The 24News HD TV channel received results of 67 polling stations in which Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate Chaudhry Amir Yasin was at a lead with 9998 votes against Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Ch Shaukat Farid with 5925 votes.

The Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Raja Riasat was at the third position in the by-polls with 4105 votes.

There is a total of 197 polling stations and 106,428 registered voters in the constituency LA-12. The LA-12 fell vacant after PPP’s Ch Yasin, who had won from two constituencies, retained his membership from the other seat.

While the LA-3 Mirpur seat became vacant after the PTI’s candidate Barrister Sultan Mahmood was sworn in as AJK president. There is a total of 148 polling stations with 85,917 registered voters in the concurrency.

In the initial results of three polling stations in LA-3, PTI’s candidate Yasir Sultan Chaudhry has bagged 247 votes and the PML-N candidate Ch Muhammad Saeed received 209 votes. The PPP candidate Chaudhry Ashraf is in the third position with only nine votes in the by-polls.

Reporter: Nadeem Chaudhry

Categories : Latest, Pakistan