PML-N votebank soars as 43.33% turnout reported in Daska by-poll

By: News Desk
Published: 10:54 AM, 11 Apr, 2021
Daska by-election
Caption: PM-N activists celebrate election victory.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The voters turnout in Saturday’s by-election for NA-75 Daska was not-much-encouraging 43.33 percent, but the PML-N’s votebank has registered a jump, reported 24NewsHD TV channel on Sunday. 

Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Syeda Nosheen Iftikhar has won the Daska by-election, beating Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf's Ali Asjad Malhi by a comfortable margin of 16,642.

As per unofficial results of the 360 polling stations, Nosheen Ifti­khar won the hard-fought contest by securing 110,075 votes against Ali Asjad Malhi who bagged 93,433, while Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan’s Khalil Sandhu received 8,268 votes.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), there were a total of 494,003 registered voters in the NA-75 constituency, including 273,006 males and 220,997 females. Of the 360 polling stations, 47 were declared sensitive.

Voters turnout remained at 43.33 percent. Among men, the turnout was 45.1percent, while turnout among women was slightly lower at 41.2 percent.

With this by-election the PML-N’s votebank has also registered a jump of many thousands.

The NA-75 seat fell vacant after the death of PML-N MNA Syed Iftikharul Hassan aka Zahry Shah in August 2020. In the 2018 general election, Hassan had secured 101,617 votes against PTI’s Malhi who bagged 61,727 votes. Now his daughter Nosheen bagged 110,075 votes, 8,458 more than her father.

Earlier, the Supreme Court had rejected PTI's appeal challenging the ECP order of repolling in NA-75 Daska. A three-member bench of the apex court headed by Justice Umar Ata Bandial announced the verdict.

The by-election held in the Sialkot constituency on February 19 was marred by deadly clashes between workers of the PTI and PML-N as well as the disappearance of around 20 presiding officers.

While hearing an appeal by PML-N candidate Nosheen Iftikhar, the ECP had declared the by-poll as null and void, and ordered that fresh elections be held in Daska.