PM forms parliamentary Jirga to defuse tension in restive KP areas

By: News Desk
Published: 05:18 PM, 11 Aug, 2022
PM forms parliamentary Jirga to defuse tension in restive KP areas
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif Thursday formally approved the formation of a 16-member ‘jirga’, consisting of members of all parliamentary parties, except PTI, to hold talks with different groups in Swat, Miramshah and Mir Ali areas of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) in the wake of deterioration of law and order situation in these areas, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.  

PM Shehbaz constituted the Jirga after consultations with Leader of the Opposition in the KP Assembly Akram Khan Durrani.

All political parties of the KP are represented in the Jirga, the first meeting of which will be held at Durrani House, Bannu tomorrow (Friday, August 12, 2022).  

The Jirga will also open the routes closed by the protestors besides ending their sit-in following negotiations with them.

JUI-F’s Akram Khan Durrani, Maulana Ataur Rehman, PML-N’s Ameer Muqam, PML-N’s Murtaza Javed Abbasi, ANP’s Aimal Wali Khan, PPP’s Faisal Karim Kundi, Qoumi Wattan Party’s Sikandar Khan Sherpao and other senior politicians are included in the Jirga.  

In this connection, Minister for Defence Khawaja Asif has already written a letter to the leaders of all parliamentary parties.

Reporter: Usman Khan

Categories : Pakistan