PPP, PTI unveil names of candidates for Senate elections

By: News Desk
Published: 03:21 PM, 12 Feb, 2021
PPP, PTI unveil names of candidates for Senate elections
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) have almost finalized their list of candidates they will pitch in the Senate elections due on March 3, reported 24NewsHD TV channel on Friday.

The PPP has given final touches to its candidates for Senate from Sindh and other provinces while the ruling PTI has almost readied their list of candidates.

The PPP has selected ‘top names’ from Sindh for the top house of the Parliament. Sherry Rehman and Senate Deputy Chairman Saleem Mandviwalla will represent the PPP in the Senate elections from Sindh.

The PPP chose Dr Kareem Khawaja for the technocrat seat from the Sindh province, for general seats Taj Haider and Jam Mehtab Dahar and for women’s seat the ticket was awarded to Palwasha Khan.

According to PPP sources, the final list of the candidates was approved by former president Asif Ali Zardari and party chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari.

Later in the day, the PPP also announced the nomination of former prime minister Yousuf Raza Gilani as its candidate for Senate elections from Islamabad. The party also expressed the hopes that the PDM will also support Gilani's candidature.

The PPP also named Farhatullah Babar from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Azeemul Haq Minhas from Punjab.

On the other hand, the ruling PTI nominated Federal Minister for Water Resources Faisal Vawda as party’s candidate for Senate elections from Sindh. For technocrat seat, Saifullah Abro will be the party’s candidate.

The PTI has selected Federal Finance Minister Dr Hafeez Shaikh and Fauzia Arshad as its candidates from Islamabad whereas Saifullah Niazi, Dr Zarqa and Barrister Ali Zafar will be the PTI’s candidates from Punjab.

From Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the PTI chose Federal Information Minister Shibli Faraz, Sania Nishtar, Mohsin Aziz, Dost Muhammad and Farzana. Abdul Qadir’s name was finalized as PTI’s candidate for Senate elections from Balochistan.

The names of the PTI candidates were shared on Twitter by Federal Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry instead of Shibli Faraz or any of the other government spokesmen.

It is pertinent to mention here that Senate elections will be held on 11 seats from Sindh. A total of 48 senators will be elected this time including 12 each from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan, 11 each from Punjab and Sindh and two from Islamabad.

On Thursday, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had unveiled the schedule for the Senate elections in the four provinces. According to the top electoral body, the polling to elect legislators for the upper house of the parliament will be held on March 3. 48 lawmakers of the Senate will retire on March 3.

As many as 52 senators are set to retire — 50 percent of the 104-member house — on March 11 after completing their six-year tenure. However, this time there will be no polling for the four seats of the erstwhile Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata) after its merger with the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

FIA facilitation centres

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has formally sought assistance from the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) in Senate elections.

A notification has been issued regarding setting up of FIA Facilitation Cell which will assist the ECP.

FIA officials have been deputed in all the provinces to assist the Election Commission.

According to sources, the profiling of the candidates for the Senate elections will be done by the ECP with the help of the FIA.