Kundi, Gandapur, Kafeel lock in knife-edge contest for DIK mayorship

Repolling in 13 other Khyber Pakhtunkhwa districts under way

By: News Desk
Published: 10:57 AM, 13 Feb, 2022
Kundi, Gandapur, Kafeel lock in knife-edge contest for DIK mayorship
Caption: TV grab.
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The polling for the election of Dera Ismail Khan mayor was started at 8am today (Sunday) and it will continue till 5pm without any break, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

A tough contest is going to be held among PPP Faisal Karim Kundi, PTI’s Umar Amin Gandapur, JUI-F Kafeel Ahmad Nizami and TLP’s Shafiq Kasuriya.

As many as 20 candidates are running for the city mayor election of DIK tehsil. The total number of registered voters is 333,671 among whom the number of male voters is 181,071 and the number of female voters is 152,600. 

The Election Commission of Pakistan has set up 296 polling stations among which 115 polling stations are for male voters, 104 for female voters and 77 polling stations are mixed, in which both male and female voters could cast their votes.

As many as 7,000 security officials have been deputed to provide security at the polling stations. 

The ECP postponed the DIK mayor election during first phase of LG polls in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on Dec 19 after the assassination of ANP contestant Omar Khattab Sherani. 

It is also pertinent to mention here that the ECP disqualified PTI candidate Umar Amin Gandapur for violating election code. But Umar Amin who is PTI MNA Ali Amin Gandapur’s brother challenged the ECP decision and Islamabad High Court while declaring the ECP decision null and void allowed Umar Amin that he could run for the election on Friday. 

Besides this, polling is also continued in 568 polling stations in 13 other districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa including Peshawar, Nowshera, Mehmand, Mardan, Kohat and Karak.

Regional Election Commissioner Saeed Ahmad visited the polling stations to assess the security situation. 

Reporter Sajid Bloch