Cantonment Boards Election 2021: PTI secures victory, independent candidates clinch 52 seats  

By: News Desk
Published: 03:17 AM, 13 Sep, 2021
Cantonment Boards Election 2021: PTI secures victory, independent candidates clinch 52 seats  
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The ruling PTI has clinched victory in the cantonment board elections as per unofficial results, 24NewsHD TV channel reported late Sunday.

The ruling party topped with 63, followed by PML-N with 59, PPP with 17, MQM-P with 10, JI with seven, BAP two and ANP two. A total of 52 independent candidates secured the victory.

A total of 1,513 candidates were in the run for 206 general seats in the wards of cantonment boards and 878 candidates were in the field for 112 wards of 19 cantonments of Punjab, 418 in 53 wards of eight cantonments of Sindh, 170 candidates in 33 wards of nine cantonments of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP), and 47 candidates in eight wards of three cantonments of Balochistan.

The ruling PTI fielded 170 candidates in all four provinces while the PML-N nominees were 140 and PPP candidates were 112. The JI fielded 105 candidates in the run.

PML-N clean sweep 

The PML-N swept elections in Walton cantonment board bagging all the nine seats. The PML-N candidates Ali Hassan Abbas secured victory in Ward No1, Rizwan Shafqat Ward No 2, Rana Asif Ali Ward No 4. Independent candidate won Ward 5 and in Ward No 6, PTI candidate Chaudhry Muhammad Omar Akbar won with 2150 votes while Shahbaz Ali Bhatti of PML-N stood second with 2029 votes.

In Ward No 7, PML-N's Mian Babar Ashraf won with 2632 votes and in Ward No 8, PML-N candidate Naeem Shehzad bagged 3598 votes. PTI candidate Muhammad Waqas Aslam won Ward No 9 polls.

PML-N candidate Mohammad Jaffer won Ward No10 polls with 2703 votes. Muhammad Hanif of PML-N won with 4331 votes. In Ward No 3, PML-N candidate Chaudhry Muhammad Sharif won with 5470 votes. PML-N's Faqir Hussain won with 1877 votes in Ward No 4. PML-N candidate Noman Naeem of Ward No 6 won with 4376 votes.

In Ward No 8, PML-N candidate Aasharab Sohal won with 4,249vote and in Ward No10 PML-N candidate Munir Hussain won with 5973 votes.

Shehbaz expresses gratitude  

PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif expressed gratitude to the people for reposing trust in PML-N. He took to Twitter to thank God and vowed to live up to public aspirations. He said he will not disappoint the people and will leave no stone unturned in solving their problems.

In Gamber Okara Ward 1, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Shahzad Shafi has won with 2,299 votes, while Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidate Baba Ilyas came second with 817 votes.

Independent candidate Umair Khadim won with 641 votes in Gamber Okara Ward 2. 

Sialkot Ward 3 went to PML-N candidate Sheikh Umar and Gujranwala Ward 3 to independent candidate Irfan Chand Butt.

 In Gujranwala Ward 10, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Ghulam Murtaza won with 607 votes.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Akhtar Rasool won Multan Ward 3 election with 321 votes.

In Multan Ward 6, independent candidate Sana Akbar won with 467 votes, in Multan Ward 7, independent candidate Shamshad Ali Ansari won with 396 votes and Bahawalpur Ward 2 seats PML-N candidate Abdul Malik won with 242 votes, while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Muhammad Ijaz came second with 134 votes. 

Murree Ward 1 and Ward 2 seats went to PTI  candidate Malik Khalil and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Akmal Nawaz.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) candidate Muhammad Adnan won with 610 votes Karachi Korangi Creek Ward 1 seat and Karachi Korangi Creek Ward 2 won by PML-N Shaukat has won with 824 votes, while Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidate came second with 392 votes. 

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Kamran Khan won Karachi Korangi Creek Ward 3 seat and in Karachi Korangi Creek Ward 4 PPP's Amir Abbasi emerged as the winner.

Karachi Korangi Creek Ward 5 winner is Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Malik Javed Iqbal, Pano Aqil Ward 1 won by independent candidate Muhammad Yaqoob Mehar. Manora Ward 1 and Manora Ward 2 winners were PPP candidates.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Samiullah won with 366 votes Bannu Ward 1, independent candidate Jamshed Mohiud-Din won Bannu Ward 2 and ANP candidate Waheed Khan Mardan Ward 2.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate secured Quetta Ward 3, independent candidate Akhtar Qureshi Ward 4, independent candidate Waheed Khan Loralai Ward 1.

Former Karachi mayor cries foul 

The Mutahidda Qaumi Movement-Pakistan leader and ex-mayor of Karachi has cried foul, 24NewsHD TV channel reported on Sunday.

Wasim Akhtar alleged that the PPP MPAs were roaming around in various localities. He alleged that voter numbers had been fudged in several cantonments. He claimed that two fake polling agents were arrested from the Clifton cantonment board.

Independent candidate Sufyanur Rehman emerged successful in Kohat Ward 3. PPP candidate Naeem Bukhsh IN Peshawar Ward 5. The winner of Dera Ismail Khan Ward 2 is PTI Candidate Anwar Ali.