LBC locks horns with PBC over LBC annual election 2023-24

By: News Desk
Published: 07:24 PM, 14 Jan, 2023
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

A controversy has erupted between the Punjab Bar Council (PBC) and Lahore Bar Council (LBC) over the LBC annual election 2023-24 held here on Saturday, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.  

The Punjab Bar Council announced the postponement of the election in view of the alleged rigging, but the LBC election board rejected the decision of PBC and released the election result.

According to a letter written by the PBC Executive Body Chairman to the LBC chairman election board that the election had been canceled after receiving complaints that several bonafide voters were not allowed to cast votes.

The PBC executive committee also nominated Babar Waheed as acting president of the Lahore Bar Council and directed all the candidates for the Lahore Bar Council office bearers to appear before the executive committee on Jan 16 at 11: 00 am.

On the other hand, the board declared the “Professional Group” of Hamid Khan as the winner of the election. It defeated late Asma Jahangir’s ‘Independent Group’.

Professional Group had fielded advocate Rana Intizar Hussain who grabbed 3, 0 46 while defeating the candidate of Independent group Munir Hussain Bhatti who secured 2168 votes. Asif Amin Goriya secured the seat of vice president by getting 2057 votes. His close opponent Nadeem Anjum could get 1749 votes. Advocate Malik Kafeel won the seat of the secretary by achieving 3046 votes while his opponent Umar Waraich received 2433 votes. Tahira Shaheen Dilon was declared successful for the post of finance secretary. She gained 2352 votes. Hadi Husain Bhatti has been declared winner for the seat of vice president of Model Town.

A large number of lawyers expressed their wrath by raising slogans against the PBC decision. The lawyers of the opposition group also chanted slogans against the LBC election’s announcement. A firing incident also occurred outside the civil court which caused panic in the area. The lawyers also dispersed due to fearing.  

Meanwhile, advocate Waheed Raza Bukhari of “Independent Lawyers Group” won the seat of president in the Multan District Bar Association by getting 1439 votes. Advocate Muhammad Tariq Sial was elected as the vice president. He has secured 1666 votes while his competitor Fahad Khalid and Sadia Aram could get 770 and votes 311 votes respectively.  

Reporter: Shaheen Atiq  

Categories : Latest, Pakistan