Australia claim ICC World T20 Cup 2021 crown 

By: News Desk
Published: 10:30 PM, 14 Nov, 2021
Australia claim ICC World T20 Cup 2021 crown 
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

An inspired Australia on Sunday night lifts the ICC World T20 Cup trophy for the first time as they suppressed New Zealand with an eight-wicket victory in a nerve-wracking final to script a glorious new chapter in the history of this format of the game.

Chasing New Zealand’s 173 runs, Mitchell Marsh scored blistering 77, David Warner scored 53 runs off 38 balls. Glenn Maxwell 76 runs off 49 deliveries. Skipper Aaron Finch once again failed to perform and perished scoring 5 runs off 7 balls.

For New Zealand, Trent Boult was the most effective bowler who took two wickets. Earlier in the day, New Zealand batted first, New Zealand managed to post a total of 173/4 in an all-important final against Kangaroos of Australia, reported 24NewsHD TV.

Kane Williamson played a captain’s role and scored splendid 85 runs off 48 deliveries. Glenn Philips scored 18 runs off 17 balls. Martin Guptill scored 28 runs off 35 deliveries with a sluggish strike rate of 80. James Neesham scored unbeaten 13 runs off 7 deliveries. Tim Seifert scored unbeaten 8 runs off 6 balls. 

The first wicket of Blackcaps fell down for 28 when Daryl Mitchell made his way back to the pavilion scoring 11 runs off 8 deliveries on Josh Hazlewood’s delivery. For Australia, Josh Hazlewood was the effective bowler, who grabbed three wickets. Meanwhile, leg spinner Adam Zampa claimed one wicket.

 Earlier, Australia captain Aaron Finch won the toss and was elected to field first. Both sides have not made any changes to their squad for this match. 

Australian Squad:

David Warner, Aaron Finch(c), Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stonis, Matthew Wade(wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

New Zealand Squad:

Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Kane Williamson(c), Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert(wk), James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult. 

In the group stage, New Zealand has won 4 of 5 matches in the Super-12 stage. New Zealand, led by Kane Williamson won four matches in a row, after being defeated by Pakistan. New Zealand defeated India, Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia

Meanwhile, Aaron Finch’s Australia beat South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and the West Indies. But lost their league match against England. Australia knocked out Pakistan in the semifinal to make it into the all-important final. 

The officials for today match includes Maris Erasmus and Richard Kettleborough as field umpires. The TV umpire for the final is Nitin Menon and the reserve umpire is Kumar Dharmasena. Meanwhile, Rajan Madugalle is a match referee for today’s final.