AJK assembly to elect PM tomorrow; PPP nominates Yaseen for slot

By: News Desk
Published: 12:19 PM, 17 Apr, 2022
AJK assembly to elect PM tomorrow; PPP nominates Yaseen for slot
Caption: Ch Muhammad Yaseen
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Azad Kashmir Legislative Assembly will elect its prime minister tomorrow (Monday) following the resignation of Sardar Qayyum Niazi, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

The joint opposition which was yet to announce its candidate has nominated PPP AJK President Ch Muhammad Yaseen for the slot

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari has given approval of Ch Yaseen’s name.

In the AJK Legislative Assembly, the strength of PPP members is 12, PML-N 7 and JKPP has one member.

As per the AJK Constitution, the premier will be selected by show of hand. The assembly session has been convened at 10:30am tomorrow. 

Speaker Ch Anwarul Haq will preside over the assembly’s proceedings.

PTI Chairman Imran Khans has already nominated Sardar Tanveer Ilyas for the election of PM office.

On Friday, the ruling party convened AJK assembly session to elect new premier but opposition went to High Court petitioning that assembly could not elect new PM as the session was summoned to table no-confidence motion against Sardar Qayyum Niazi but since he already resigned, the assembly speaker could not hold PM election in Friday’s session. They said the speaker was bound by the constitution to wait for two days after PM’s resignation, then he could convene assembly session for election of new PM. The court stayed the election proceedings of the speaker. But the ruling party went to the AJK Supreme Court against the high court stay order. 

However, the full-bench of AJK Supreme Appellate Court on Saturday ordered convening a separate session of the assembly for the election of Leader of the House. 

Reporter Zahid Bashir Khattak