Magsi, Tushna Patel defend titles in 15th Cholistan Jeep Rally

15km-long Dirt Bike Rally also introduced for first time

By: Saleem Jadoon      Published: 09:11 PM, 17 Feb, 2020
Magsi, Tushna Patel defend titles in 15th Cholistan Jeep Rally
Magsi, Tushna Patel defend titles in 15th Cholistan Jeep Rally

Nadir Magsi and Tushna Patel emerged champions by defending their titles in their respective categories in the 15th Cholistan Jeep Rally held at the Derawar Fort on Sunday.

According to official results announced at the prize-distribution ceremony, defending champion Nadir Magsi covered the total distance of 466km in two rounds in four hours, 28 minutes and 50 seconds (4.28.50).

Mr Magsi had also topped first round the rally’s prepaid category (220kms) held on Friday.

Asif Fazal and Faisal grabbed second and third, respectively, in the main prepaid category, with Asif covered the distance in four hours, 37 minutes and 49 seconds (4.37.49) while Faisal it four hours, 39 minutes and 41 seconds (4.39.41).

As many as 75 vehicles took part in the first round of the prepaid category and 48 drivers contested the second round held on Sunday, out of them, 28 returned to the finishing point.

In the stock category’s A class, Rashid Goraya clinched the first position, while Sultan Bahadur and Mansoor remained second and third, respectively. Goraya covered 220kms distance in two hours, 42 minutes. Raza Saeed emerged winner in C Class of stock category.

In the women’s category, Tushna Patel defended her title and got first position, while Ms Mahem Qureshi and Ms Salma Marwat followed with second and third positions.

Ms Patel covered the distance in one hour, 37 minutes and four seconds (1.37.4), followed by Ms Qureshi (1.45.25) and Ms Marwat (1.52.36).

Bike race

The Dirt Bike Rally was also introduced for the first time as part of the main event and as many as 15 bikers participated in the 15km-long bike rally. The bike rally was won by Moeen Khan with Shamael Haider Khosa and Naeem Khan finishing second and third respectively.

A racer, Mohsin Kim, was caught in a situation that both unfortunate and funny at the same time.

The Haroobabad biker was about to clinch 3rd position when his bike went out of order just meters from the finish line.

He was then urged by the spectators to drag his bike to the finish line. He complied and finished fourth.

The situation was enjoyed by the spectators who lauded his performance.

Mohsin Kim

A large number of people from all walks of life witnessed the jeep rally on the last day and enjoyed the festivities related to the main event held at Derawar Fort.

Adviser to CM on Tourism Asif Mehmood, CM Inspection Team (CMIT) Head Dr Raheel Ahmed Siddiqui and Bahawalpur Division Commissioner Asif Iqbal Chaudhry distributed prizes to the winners.

The administration had also organized a cultural night at the venue where noted singers, including Abrarul Haq, Surraya Multanikar and Cholistani folk singers performed.