AJK Supreme Court removes five high court judges

By: News Desk
Published: 02:33 PM, 17 Jul, 2020
AJK Supreme Court removes five high court judges
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The AJK Supreme Court on Friday terminated five high court judges whose appointment was challenged in June 2018, reported 24NewsHD TV channel.

They had taken oath as the AJK High Court judges on May 23, 2018. The names of those who have been removed from the office are: Raja Sajjad Ali Khan, Sardar Ejaz, Raza Ali Khan and Khalid Yousuf.

On the other hand, Chaudhry Munir, who previously served as district and sessions judge before his elevation to the high court, was sent back to his previous post.

The latest development came as the AJK High Court had declared these appointments legal but the state’s apex court issued its judgment in favour of the four petitioners who happened to be the lawyers.

It was stated in the initial petition submitted before the high court that the two chief justices had recommended and selected the qualified persons according to their best wisdom.

The AJK president was required to send the consensus names to the AJK Council for its advice. However, he sent a summary of names of the five persons to the AJK Council who were not consensus nominees, which resulted in sending it back as being not in accordance with the relevant constitutional provision.

According to the petitioners, the president had exclusively sent the names of respondents 10-14 to the AJK Council in the second round without any consensus, consultation and recommendation of both the chief justices.