MQM-P regains NA-240 seat in bypolls

By: News Desk
Published: 01:34 AM, 17 Jun, 2022
MQM-P regains NA-240 seat in bypolls
Stay tunned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) has regained the NA-240 seat in a by-election, 24NewsHD TV channel reported Thursday.

According to unconfirmed unofficial results from all 309 polling stations, Muhammad Abu Bakar of MQM-P won the by-polls by securing 10,683 votes.

Shezada Shahbaz of TLP stood second with 10,618 votes, followed by Rafiuddin of Mohajir Qaumi Movement with 8383 votes, Nasir Rahim of PPP with 5248 votes and Shabir Ahmad of PSP 4,797 votes.

The NA-240 constituency includes Landhi and Korangi Abdullah Shah Noorani Town, Landhi Babar Market, Shah Khalid Colony, Zamanabad, Christian Colony, Jamnagar, Khizrabad, Khurramabad, Pir Bukhari Colony.

The population of the constituency is more than 854,000 and the number of voters is 529,855, including 235,470 women voters.

In the 2018 elections, Iqbal Muhammad Ali of MQM won with 61,165 votes  The seat fell vacant following his death on April 19. A total of 21 candidates were in the run.

Earlier in the day, a man was gunned down have been injured as violence marred the polls, reported 24newsHD TV channel. Jinnah Postgraduate Medical Center (JPMC) officials said the deceased, 60-year-old Saifullah, was brought to the medical facility and PSP chief Mustafa Kamal confirmed that the deceased person was a member of his party.

“He was our party member, who was aged. He resided in Baldia. The TLP people attacked us,” the PSP chief said, rebutting the claims of the TLP that they were attacked. Kamal said that had the PSP used weapons, no one would be able to open fire at their offices and return safely. “They (TLP) are spewing lies. I appeal to the authorities that arrest them or give us weapons.”