West Indies win toss, bowl against Scotland at T20 World Cup

Published: 09:34 AM, 17 Oct, 2022
West Indies win toss, bowl against Scotland at T20 World Cup
Stay tuned with 24 News HD Android App
Get it on Google Play

West Indies skipper Nicholas Pooran won the toss and elected to bowl against Scotland in their opening match of the Twenty20 World Cup in Hobart on Monday.

The two-time champions are without top names including Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Bravo and must go through round one to make the World Cup Super 12.

Scotland, led by Richie Berrington, will aim to repeat their feat of making the Super 12 last year.

The teams will each play three first-round matches.


Scotland: George Munsey, Michael Jones, Matthew Cross (wk), Richie Berrington (capt), Calum MacLeod, Chris Greaves, Michael Leask, Mark Watt, Josh Davey, Safyaan Sharif, Brad Wheal

West Indies: Kyle Mayers, Evin Lewis, Brandon King, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran (capt, wk), Rovman Powell, Jason Holder, Odean Smith, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Obed McCoy

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK), Paul Wilson (AUS)

TV Umpire: Chris Brown (NZL)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (ENG)


Categories : T20 World Cup

Agence France-Presse is an international news agency.